Jim Carroll

Music, Life and everything else

The best in the North

Which of these 12 albums will win this year’s Northern Ireland Music Prize?

1 in 12: Jealous of the Birds' Naomi Hamilton

Thu, Sep 15, 2016, 15:28


It’s time for the runners and riders for the Northern Ireland Music Prize 2016 to take to the stage. The acts and album vying to win the prize, which was won in previous years by Soak (last year’s winner for “Before We Forgot How To Dream”), Robyn G Shiels (who took the honours in 2014 for “The Blood Of The Innocents”) and Foy Vance (the 2013 winner with “Joy Of Nothing”) are as follows

The Bonnevilles “Arrow Pierce My Heart”

Ciaran Lavery “Let Bad In”

David C Clements “The Longest Day In History”

Documenta “Drone Pop #1″

exmagician “Scan The Blue”

Foy Vance “The Wild Swan”

Girls Names “Arms Around A Vision”

Jealous of the Birds “Parma Violets”

Michael Mormecha “LOFi LiFE”

Ports “The Devil Is A Songbird”

Ryan Vail “For Every Silence”

Sea Pinks “Soft Days”

The shortlist was compiled from the votes of more than 70 judges from the NI music industry and music media and a second round of voting will decide the winning album. This will be announced at an event at Mandela Hall, Belfast on November 11 which will also feature performances from Ports, Jealous Of The Birds and Girls Names. The Oh Yeah Legend Award will be presented on the night to Ash. Tickets for the event are now on sale.