Hosts Dublin City University win 'Irish Times' debating final


The final of The Irish Times debate series was won last night by a team from Dublin City University. The team's two members are Mr Michael Moriarty and Mr Ian Kehoe of the Debating Society.

Second in the team category were Mr Sam Collins and Mr Dave Whelan of University College Dublin Law Society.

Presenting the award, the chairman of the judging panel, barrister Mr Cian Ferriter, said all members of the panel were impressed by the very high standard.

Earlier Mr Gerry Smyth, managing editor at The Irish Times, expressed his appreciation to all involved in organising the series of debates, and to DCU president, Prof Ferdinand von Prondzynski, for the use of the Helix venue.

The individual winner was Mr Paul Brady from King's Inns for what was described by the chairman of the jury, Mr Ferriter, as "the outstanding speech of the night".

Mr Brady won the Christina Murphy Memorial award.

Second in the individual category was Mr Mánus De Barra of Dublin University Historical Society.

The motion for debate was that "This House Regrets the Restrictions on the Media's Freedom of Speech" and was successfully proposed by the winning team.

The debate was hosted by the broadcaster Mr David McWilliams.

The judging panel's chairman Mr Ferriter won the 1992 individual title in the series. Other judging panel members were Prof Brent Northup, chair of the Communications Department at Carroll College, Montana, in the US, Mr Martin Conroy of the College Society DCU, Ms Bríd McGrath, desk officer at the Department of Foreign Affairs and a 2001 winning team member in the series, and Mr Hugh Linehan editor of The Ticket at The Irish Times. The debates series convenor for 2003-2004 was Ms Aoife Titley, individual winner in 2001.