Stephen Cluxton back in Dublin side to face Tyrone

Jim Gavin makes six changes to the team beaten by All-Ireland champions Kerry

Dublin football captain Stephen Cluxton returns for his first match of this season's league and will keep goal as the holders take on Tyrone at Croke Park this evening.

His return in place of Seán Currie is one of six changes to the team beaten by All-Ireland champions Kerry last week.

Bernard Brogan and Paddy Andrews also make their first starts of the league although both came off the bench in Killarney. They replace Cormac Costello and Eoghan O’Gara respectively.

Also coming in are Eoin Culligan, in place of the suspended Michael Fitzsimons, Nicky Devereux and Emmett Ó Conghaile, replacing Darren Daly and Shane Carthy.


All-Ireland hurling champions Kilkenny make four changes after defeat by Dublin two weeks ago. Michael Walsh and Shane Prendergast come into the full-back line for the match against Galway in Salthill in place of Tomás Keogh and Jackie Tyrrell whereas Willie Phelan replaces Geoff Brennan at centrefield and All-Ireland final replay star John Power starts ahead of Brian Kennedy in a re-shuffle that sees Pádraig Walsh go to wing back.

Table toppers Dublin make two changes to the side that bridged a 50-year gap by winning in Nowlan Park for this evening's visit of Cork. Ryan O'Dwyer is named by Ger Cunningham at wing forward in place of Colm Cronin and Niall McMorrow comes in for Simon Lambert at centrefield.

Tipperary manager Eamon O'Shea brings Conor O'Mahony in at full back in place of Paul Curran and also recalls James Woodlock at centrefield with Gearóid Ryan dropping out and finally Noel McGrath returns at corner forward in place of the injured Denis Maher. DUBLIN (AFL v Tyrone): S Cluxton; E Culligan, R O'Carroll, J Cooper; N Devereux, J Small, J McCaffrey; D Bastick, E Ó Conghaile; T Brady, D Rock, C Kilkenny; K McManamon, P Andrews, B Brogan. KILKENNY (AHL v Galway): E Murphy; P Murphy, M Walsh, S Prendergast; P Walsh, K Joyce, C Buckley; W Phelan, L Ryan; W Walsh, R Hogan, M Ruth; M Kelly, J Farrell, J Power. Subs: D Brennan, T Keogh, J Tyrrell, B Kennedy, G Brennan, P Gahan, B Staunton, G Malone, K Hogan, K Kelly, G Aylward. DUBLIN (AHL): A Nolan; C O'Callaghan, M Carton, P Schutte; C Crummey, P Kelly, C Keaney; S Durkin, N McMorrow; R O'Dwyer, E Dillon, D Sutcliffe; D Treacy, L Rushe, M Schutte. TIPPERARY (AHL v Clare): D Gleeson; C Barrett, C O'Mahony, C O'Brien; M Breen, Pádraic Maher, R Maher; K Bergin, J Woodlock; J O'Dwyer, B Maher (capt.), J Forde; N McGrath, S Callanan, J McGrath.

Seán Moran

Seán Moran

Seán Moran is GAA Correspondent of The Irish Times