Palatine celebrate


Carlow SFC Final/ Palatine 1-9 Kildavin-Clonegal 0-11: Palatine are Carlow SFC champions for the first time since 1952.

County star Brian Farrell's injury-time point from a 45 bridged that 54-year gap for the Kildare border side as they edged past Kildavin-Clonegal's challenge in yesterday's final at Dr Cullen Park.

A 14th minute goal from Paul Reid gave Palatine a commanding 1-4 to 0-3 interval lead but Kildavin-Clonegal stormed back to lead 0-11 to 1-4 by the 41st minute.

But Palatine dug deep and a succession of unanswered points saw them draw level by the 55th minute - the equaliser coming via wing forward Gavin Farrell's fisted point.

SCORERS: Palatine: P Reid (1-1), B Kelly (0-2, both frees), B Farrell (0-2, both 45s); E McGarry (0-2), J Reid (0-1), G Farrell (0-1)

Kildavin-Clonegal: R Sinnott (0-2), J Roberts (0-1); A Nolan (0-2), A Kelly (0-1), N Conway (0-5, 0-4 frees).