Henry and Marshall named in Irish squad


Rugby:Ireland coach Declan Kidney has named a 29-man training squad in preparation for next Sunday’s Six Nations clash away to Scotland at Murrayfield, including 11 players not involved in the matchday 23 for the England game.

Ulster inside centre Luke Marshall is included in a Six Nations squad for the first time despite suffering bruising to his thighs in last Friday’s Pro12 victory over Zebre at Ravenhill.

The 21-year-old lasted 37 minutes of that game but will join up with the Ireland squad that will report at Carton House on Monday evening having being unavailable for the opening weeks of the championship with a finger injury.

Kidney has also brought in Marshall’s provincial midfield partner Darren Cave, while Keith Earls and Fergus McFadden will also come in to contention to replace the injured Gordon D’Arcy.

There is no place for Ulster’s Andrew Trimble in the squad, with Luke Fitzgerald and Connacht fullback Robbie Henshaw the other back three players named.

Ronan O’Gara and Paddy Jackson will battle it out for the outhalf berth, with Kidney deciding against bringing in the likes of Ian Madigan and Ian Keatley.

Flanker Chris Henry is included amongst the forwards, but will undergo a scan tomorrow on the knee injury he picked up against Zebre.

Munster backrow James Coughlan and secondrows Lewis Stevenson and Devin Toner come into the squad as extra cover after being involved in the early preparations of the championship. Ulster prop Tom Court is also included.

The panel could have extra players added to it after further medical reports and the final squad will assemble in Carton House tomorrow evening.

Ireland Squad - Backs:Rob Kearney (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Darren Cave (Ulster), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Ronan O'Gara (Munster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Conor Murray (Munster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster)

Forwards:Rory Best (Ulster), Seán Cronin (Leinster), Tom Court (Ulster), David Kilcoyne (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Declan Fitzpatrick (Ulster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster), Lewis Stevenson (Ulster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), James Coughlan (Munster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Seán O'Brien (Leinster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster).

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.