Tohill names preliminary Rules panel


GAA:International Rules manager Anthony Tohill has named a 31-man training squad which will be cut by eight next Tuesday before the panel departs for Australia on October 22nd.

Fifteen counties in total are represented, though Aussie Rules players Tadhg Kenelly, Pearse Hanley will not join up with the squad until it arrives Down Under.

Among those included are veterans to the cross code Armagh’s Steven McDonnell, Dublin’s All-Ireland winning hero Stephen Cluxton and Kevin Reilly of Meath.

“We are very happy with the panel that has been assembled and with the mood within the squad,” said Tohill today. “Those who have trained with us have applied themselves diligently and are looking forward to the challenge of regaining the Cormac McAnallen trophy.

“A number of other players were approached to join the training panel but were unable to do so due to injury and other commitments.

“The selectors and I are working our way through the difficult job of cutting the training panel to the required number of 23. Players not selected in the final 23 will be on standby.”

GAA president Christy Cooney added: “I know first-hand the level of detail and planning that has already gone into gearing up for the Series and those preparations will only intensify in the days and weeks ahead.

“I wish all of those still involved with the panel every success in their endeavours in trying to make the final cut and I acknowledge the commitment and passion that the backroom team members, headed by team manager Anthony, have already shown to date.”

Tohill is joined on the coaching staff by Eoin Liston (Kerry), Kevin O’Brien (Wicklow), Seán Óg de Paor (Galway) and Kieran McGeeney (Armagh).

Ireland play Australia in games at Melbourne’s Etihad Stadium on October 28th and the Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast on November 4th.

Both will be televised on TG4.

TG4 Ireland International Rules Preliminary Panel 2011

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Leighton Glynn (Wicklow)

Rob Kelly (Kildare)

Emmet Bolton (Kildare)

Brendan Murphy (Carlow)

Colm Begley (Laois)

Kevin Reilly (Meath)

Karl Lacey (Donegal)

Neil McGee (Donegal)

Michael Murphy (Donegal)

Steven McDonnell (Armagh)

Ciarán McKeever (Armagh)

Danny Hughes (Down)

Kevin McKernan (Down)

Joe McMahon (Tyrone)

Darren Hughes (Monaghan)

Finian Hanley (Galway)

Donal Vaughan (Mayo)

Eoin Cadogan (Cork)

Aidan Walsh (Cork)

Patrick Kelly (Cork)

Tomas O'Connor (Kildare)

Eamon Callaghan (Kildare)

Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)

Darran O'Sullivan (Kerry)

Tommy Walsh (Kerry/St Kilda)

Michael Quinn (Longford /Essendon)

Chrissy McKaigue (Derry/Sydney Swans)

Zach Touhy (Laois - Carlton)

Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans)

Pearse Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions)