Leinster and Munster take Interprovincial honours


INTERPROVINCIAL HURLING FINAL/LEINSTER 1-15 MUNSTER 1-12:Kilkenny's Richie Power hit nine points to lead Leinster to their first M Donnelly Interprovincial Hurling title since 2006 with a three-point victory over Munster at O'Moore Park in Portlaoise last night.

Munster had led 1-8 to 0-5 at the break, but Power's county team-mate Richie Hogan grabbed a vital goal for  Leinster goal in the 51st minute to set them on the road to victory.

Leinster dominated the last 15 minutes and could even afford to miss a late penalty, when Power had to settle for a point.

SCORERS - Leinster:R Power 0-9 (6f), R Hogan 1-1, J O'Connor, A Fogarty, E Brennan, E Larkin, M Rice 0-1 each. Munster:E Kelly 0-7 (6f), A Shaughnessy 1-0, B O'Connor 0-2, N Gilligan, J Gardiner, Paul Kelly 0-1 each.

INTERPROVINCIAL FOOTBALL FINAL/MUNSTER 1-9 CONNACHT 0-7:Munster ran out five point winners over Connacht to claim their title since 1999 in Portlaoise. 

Waterford defender Tomás O'Gorman scored a goal in the 11th minute helping Munster to a seven-point lead at the interval.

Connacht got the deficit down to five with eight minutes to go, only for Munster to up the tempo and go on to take their 15th title

SCORERS - Munster:D Goulding 0-4 (1f), D O'Connor 0-3, T O'Gorman 1-0, I Ryan 0-2 (1f). Connacht:C Mortimer (0-2f), G Heneghan (0-2f), A Dillon 0-2 each, A Moran 0-1.