O’Neill names squad to face Russia

Northern Ireland manager names 20-man panel for rescheduled World Cup qualifier in Belfast

Northern Ireland manager Michael O'Neill has named a 20-man squad for next week's World Cup qualifying home clash against Russia.

Striker Kyle Lafferty, who sat out the last qualifier due to suspension, is among the party for the Group F game next Wednesday at Windsor Park.

Fellow frontman David Healy, midfielder Paddy McCourt and defender Chris Baird - all currently without a club — have not been included, while West Brom midfielder Chris Brunt is also absent.

The fixture had originally been scheduled for March, but heavy snow and icy playing conditions in Belfast saw it postponed.

Squad: Roy Carroll (Olympiacos), Alan Mannus (St Johnstone); Aaron Hughes (Fulham), Ryan McGivern (Hibernian), Craig Cathcart (Blackpool), Gareth McAuley (West Bromwich Albion), Daniel Lafferty (Burnley), Jonny Evans (Manchester United), Alex Bruce (Hull City); Steven Davis (Southampton), Oliver Norwood (Huddersfield Town), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Shane Ferguson (Newcastle United), Corry Evans (Blackburn Rovers), Grant McCann (Peterborough United); Will Grigg (Brentford), Billy McKay (Inverness), Martin Paterson (Huddersfield Town), Kyle Lafferty (Palermo), Jamie Ward (Derby County).

Latest Stories