Sarsfields in total control


TIPPERARY SHC FINAL Thurles Sarsfields 0-14 Drom 'n Inch 0-5: NEW ALL STAR Pádraic Maher was an inspiring figure as Thurles Sarsfields captured their 30th Tipperary senior hurling championship, easily defeating neighbours Drom ’n Inch in a very low-key game at Semple Stadium, Thurles yesterday.

Chasing their first title since 2005, Sarsfields set out their stall early on. With team captain Johnny Enright and county man Pa Bourke razor-sharp in attack they chalked up the points, going 0-6 to one point clear by the end of the first quarter.

Drom-Inch were struggling to get into the game and while they did improve in the second quarter, they were still 0-9 to 0-3 adrift at the break.

The sides shared two points in a very poor third quarter and another two over the next 10 minutes. Ger “Redser” O’Grady, whose year has been dogged by injury, came off the bench in the closing stages to grab two great points for Sarsfields.

Thurles finished nine points to the good and now play Newtownshandrum of Cork in the Munster club championship.

While Maher was star of the show for Sarsfields he did not lack for support. Johnny Enright, Pa Bourke, Michael Cahill, Lar Corbett and Denis Maher also had a big influence on the game.

SARSFIELDS: P McCormack; K O’Gorman P Maher, B O’Dwyer, L Cahill, M Cahill, S Lillis; A Kennedy, M Gleeson (0-1); P Bourke (0-4, three frees), S Ryan, D Maher (0-1); R Ruth (0-1), L Corbett, J Enright (0-5, one free). Subs: D Kennedy for Ryan, G O’Grady (0-2)for Ruth, J Lawlor for L Cahill, D O’Dwyer for A Kennedy, M Collins for O Gorman.

DROM-INCH: D Young; Martin Butler, E Costelloe, M Costelloe; D Kennedy, P Stapleton, Micheal Butler; J Woodlock, S Butler; E Woodlock, S Callanan (0-2, one free), J Kennedy (0-1); D Butler, M Long, J Ryan (0-2, frees). Subs: E Buckley for Stapleton, D Ryan for Long, M Ryan for E Woodlock, D Collins for D Ryan, James Ryan for J Woodlock.

Referee: S Bradshaw(Knockavilla).