Pat Lam makes wholesale changes for Treviso trip

Robbie Henshaw named on the bench as Tiernan O’Halloran returns from injury

Pat Lam has made wholesale changes to his Connacht side for Friday night's trip to play Bennetton Trevison.

In total there are 10 new faces from the team which recorded a famous win over Munster at The Sportsground last time out.

Connacht are second in the Pro 12 table with just two games left to play, and a win would see them return to the summit with Leinster not in action until Saturday.

Friday's fixture will see the return from injury of Jack Carty and Tiernan O'Halloran, while Fionn Carr, John Cooney and Rory Parata all start.


In the forwards Quinn Roux and Andrew Browne start in the engine room, while Rodney Ah You returns to the frontrow alongside captain Tom McCartney.

Robbie Henshaw starts on the bench alongside John Muldoon and Sale Sharks-bound AJ MacGinty.

Ahead of the game at the Stadio Moniga, Lam said: “ We’re under no illusions when it comes to the challenge we face in trying to secure a semi final spot tomorrow night in Italy. Treviso are desperate for points to get them into next year’s Champions Cup. This is their last home game before they travel to play Leinster in the RDS so we know which game they will be targeting for the crucial points.

“However we’re very excited to be playing for so much at this time of the year. As well as a maiden semi final place, we have a great opportunity to be the only team to have stayed in the top four for all 22 rounds of the league competition. Considering we have had to change the starting team for every round it would be a great testament to the level of consistency we have reached all season as a squad.

“With some players returning and unfortunately losing a few others to injury, we see a much-changed team again this week. But the expectation remains that those selected have a responsibility to execute their roles and work hard for the team. This will give us the best chance to secure the points and some very special outcomes for Connacht Rugby.”

Connacht: Tiernan O'Halloran, Niyi Adeolokun, Rory Parata, Peter Robb, Fionn Carr, Jack Carty, John Cooney, Ronan Loughney, Tom McCartney, Rodney Ah You, Quinn Roux, Andrew Browne, Sean O'Brien, Jake Heenan, Eoin McKeon. Replacements: Dave Heffernan, JP Cooney, Finlay Bealham, Aly Muldowney, John Muldoon, Coalin Blade, AJ MacGinty, Robbie Henshaw.

Treviso: Jayden Hayward, Angelo Esposito, Luca Morisi, Alberto Sgarbi , Ludovico Nitoglia, Sam Christie, Edoardo Gori, Abraham Steyn, Alessandro Zanni, Francesco Minto, Tom Palmer, Filo Paulo, Simone Ferrari, Ornel Gega, Matteo Zanusso. Replacements: Davide Giazzon, Cherif Traorè, Salesi Manu, Marco Fuser, Marco Lazzaroni, Alberto Lucchese, Luke McLean, Tommaso Iannone.