Arnaud Demare claims his first stage win of 2019 Giro d’Italia

Frenchman holds off Elia Viviani and Rudiger Selig as crash reduces stage 10 sprint

With the race’s debut with the major mountains due to take place later this week, the sprinters at the Giro d’Italia made the most of their chances on Tuesday’s pan-flat stage to Modena.

Frenchman Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ), the 2016 Milan-Sanremo champion, clocked up his first win of the season, beating Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-QuickStep), Rudiger Selig (Bora-Hansgrohe) and the other sprinters.

Ireland’s Eddie Dunbar rolled in as part of the same bunch, placing 84th, while Conor Dunne was three minutes and eight seconds back in 145th place.

Race leader Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates) was part of the main bunch and maintained his one minute 50 second margin of superiority over the big race favourite, Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo-Visma). The latter is expected to take over at the top again once the race hits the high slopes.


Dunbar stays 49th, 16 minutes and one second back, while Dunne is now 151st. The Giro continues on Wednesday with a mainly flat 221 kilometre run to Novi Ligure.

Giro d’Italia, Italy (WorldTour)

Stage 10, Ravenna to Modena: 1, Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ) 145 kilometres in 3 hours 36 mins 7 secs; 2, E. Viviani (Deceuninck-QuickStep); 3, R. Selig (Bora-Hansgrohe); 4, C. Ewan (Lotto Soudal); 5, G. Nizzolo (Dimension Data); 6, D. Cimolai (Israel Cycling Academy)

Irish: 84, E. Dunbar (Team Ineos); 145, C. Dunne (Israel Cycling Academy) at 3 mins 8 secs

General classification after stage 10: 1, Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates) 39 hours 44 mins 39 secs; 2, P. Roglic (Team Jumbo-Visma) at 1 min 50 secs; 3, N. Peters (AG2R La Mondiale) at 2 mins 21 secs; 4, J. Rojas (Movistar Team) at 2 mins 33 secs; 5, F. Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) at 2 mins 36 secs; 6, A. Amador (Movistar Team) at 2 mins 39 secs

Irish: 49, E. Dunbar (Team Ineos) at 16 mins 1 secs; 151, C. Dunne (Israel Cycling Academy) at 1 hours 19 mins 56 secs

Point classification: 1, Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) 155 pts; 2, A. Demare (Groupama-FDJ) 154; 3, C. Ewan (Lotto Soudal) 109

Mountain classification: 1, Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo) 32 pts; 2, P. Roglic (Team Jumbo-Visma) 22; 3, F. Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) 18

Young rider classification: 1, Nans Peters (AG2R La Mondiale) at 39 hours 47 mins; 2, V. Madouas (Groupama-FDJ) at 1 min 6 secs; 3, G. Carboni (Bardiani CSF) at 1 min 9 secs

Irish: 11, E. Dunbar (Team Ineos) at 13 mins 40 secs

Shane Stokes

Shane Stokes

Shane Stokes is a contributor to The Irish Times writing about cycling