Aberdeen to host women's home international test


In the Organics Vital all-Ireland bridge pairs championships, played at the Templeogue Centre, Dublin, the following were the prizewinners: 1, A. Onishuk, K. de Raeymaeker; 2, J.P. MacHale, T. Walsh; 3, B. Sheridan, S. Costello.

Intermediate A: 1, A. O'Connell, A. O'Rourke; 2, L. Carey, M. Maguire; 3, M. Sheehan, M. Delaney. Sessional winners: J. Kulchycky, M. McConville; M. Keating, M. O'Brien; J. Phelan, L. McKay.

Intermediate B: 1, J. McLoughlin, S. McNutt; 2, E. Muldoon, B. Brady; 3, M.R. Schwizer, E. Eddie. Sessional winners: D. Crowe, J. McDermott; T. and O. Aherne; M. Carroll, L. Christensen. Best novices: C. Cagney, F. McKittrick. Directors: F. O'Boyle, A. Mealy, M. Basquille.

The women's home international championship (Lady Milne Trophy) will take place in Aberdeen next weekend. The Republic will be represented by Helen Carroll, Jill Kulchycky, Hilary Dowling-Long, Ann Marie Horan, Patsy Meehan, Petra O'Neill, and Paul Delaney (non-playing captain).

The 60th East of Ireland congress will be held in the Fairways Hotel, Dublin Road, Dundalk, from May 31st to June 3rd. A solid silver memento will be presented to each trophy winner.

The programme is - open pairs on Friday, Saturday and Sunday at 7.30 p.m., and on Monday at 5.30 p.m. Saturday, two-session mixed pairs (2.15 p.m.), one-session intermediate B pairs (7.30 p.m.); Sunday (2 p.m.), two-session major, and intermediate A pairs; Monday, two-session teams (noon), novice pairs (5.30 p.m.), presentation of prizes (9 p.m.).

Entries: Eileen McEntegart (042-9321643). Chief tournament directors: Joe, and John Murray.

South of Ireland congress, Lake Hotel, Killarney - Mixed pairs (Dr E.N.M. O'Sullivan Trophy); 1, J. Holland, M. Brunner; 2, D. O'Sullivan, K. Cussen; 3, P. Hardyment, A. Forsyth. Best Munster: J. and A. Power. Sessional winners: J. Fitzgerald, F. Daly; M. McAuliffe, A. Hanratty.

Major teams (Lough Lein Trophy); 1, P. Hardyment, A. Forsyth, P. Casselle, K. Loveys; 2, M. McAuliffe, M. MacCormac, M. Elliott, D. Jones; 3, B. Hirst, B. Ewart, C. Melluish, D. Mordue. Best 3rd session: J. Holland, M. Brunner, D. and S. Fleischman.

Lake Hotel trophies - Women: 1, S. Rankin, J. Rumball, G. Hall, M. Nelson; 2, M. Boland, R. O'Shaughnessy, M. Reddy, M. Hadden tied with P. Davis, V. Austwick, C. Comrie, A. Magee. Men: 1, R. Semp, A. Thompson, B. Senior, N. Bird; 2, C. Melluish, R. Mordue, D. Jones, M. Elliott.

Eastern Region president's (T. Kavanagh) prize, and Britton Trophy: 1, B. Byrne, K. Meade; 2, B. Fogarty, A. Carroll; 3, A. O'Keeffe, V. King; 4, J. Kilduff, F. Fitzgerald. Best A: M. Flynn, K. Clarke. Best B: L. Doyle, L. Saunders. Sessional winners: P. Collins, H. Keegan; A. Meagher, N. English.

Fearghal O'Boyle, the highly respected tournament director from Sligo, has been chosen to direct at the European championships in Italy next month.