Clare and Tipperary name sides for All-Ireland quarter-final

Both sides make three changes for Saturday’s quarter-final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh

David McInerney and Aron Shanagher have been ruled out of the Clare team to face Tipperary in the All-Ireland quarter-finals this weekend after failing fitness tests on Thursday evening.

McInerney has failed to recover from a hamstring strain picked up in training last week while Shanagher has a chest injury. Cian Dillon will start at corner back in place of the All Star defender McInerney with Aaron Cunningham replacing his Wolfe Tones na Sionna teammate at full forward.

McInerney and Shanagher are not named among the replacements for Saturday's match at the newly reopened Pairc Ui Chaoimh (throw-in 3pm), the first championship match at the rebuilt stadium.

Joint managers Donal Moloney and Gerry O'Connor make one other change to the side beaten by Cork in the Munster final with Jamie Shanahan selected ahead of Oisín O'Brien at left half back.


Tippery manager Michael Ryan has also made three changes to the side that defeated Dublin heavily a fortnight ago, with Noel McGrath restored to the starting line-up ahead of Jason Forde. Forde score four points from play in the 6-26 to 1-19 win against Dublin but loses out to the Loughmore-Castleiney man in the half forward line.

Daragh Mooney, a late withdrawal the last day, returns from injury in place of Darren Gleeson in the Tipperary goal and Seamus Kennedy will join Ronan and Padraic Maher in the half back line. Joe O’Dwyer is the player to make way.

Clare (v Tipperary): 1 Andrew Fahy (Whitegate); 2 Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge), 3 Patrick O'Connor (Tubber, capt), 4 Cian Dillon (Crusheen); 5 David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona), 6 Conor Cleary (St. Josephs Miltown), 7 Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge); 8 Colm Galvin (Clonlara), 9 Tony Kelly (Ballyea); 10 Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge), 11 Podge Collins (Cratloe), 12 John Conlon (Clonlara); 13 Shane O'Donnell (Éire Óg Inis), 14 Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), 15 Conor McGrath (Cratloe)

Tipperary: 1 Daragh Mooney (Eire Óg Annacarty-Donohill); 2 Donagh Maher (Burgess), 3 Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy), 4 James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane); 5 Seamus Kennedy (St. Mary's), 6 Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), 7 Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, capt); 8 Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), 9 Michael Breen (Ballina); 10 Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, 11 Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), 12 Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh); 13 John O'Dwyer (Killenaule), 14 Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), 15 John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)