Chelsea’s Matic resigned to losing appeal and missing out on Wembley final

Serb sent off for retaliation following horrific tackle by Burnley’s Ashley Barnes

Chelsea’s Nemanja Matic is shown a red card by referee Martin Atkinson after the controversial incident at Stafmord Bridge. Photo: Tony O’Brien/Reuters

Chelsea’s Nemanja Matic is shown a red card by referee Martin Atkinson after the controversial incident at Stafmord Bridge. Photo: Tony O’Brien/Reuters

 

Nemanja Matic is resigned to missing Sunday’s League One Cup final despite Chelsea’s decision to lodge an appeal with the English FA against his sending off for pushing over Ashley Barnes during the draw with Burnley.

The Serb midfielder was dismissed by the referee, Martin Atkinson, whose oversight in missing Barnes’s horrific tackle which prompted that reaction has led to the referee being rested from next weekend’s Premier League fixture list.

Chelsea have opted to appeal on the grounds of excessive sentence which, if successful, is likely to see Matic’s prospective three-match ban reduced but not overturned, ruling him out of the final at Wembley.

A claim against wrongful dismissal technically carried the risk – albeit slim – of incurring an extra game suspension if the appeal was rejected.

But Chelsea, whose lead at the top of the Premier League may have been cut to two points by the time they resume their pursuit of the title, are expected to call on evidence from Tottenham’s derby draw with West Ham on Sunday in their case to have Matic’s sanction reduced.

Jan Vertonghen reacted to a challenge from Mark Noble on Nabil Bentaleb in that game by pushing the visitors’ midfielder to the ground but neither player was punished. Vertonghen is set to start Sunday’s showpiece.

Chelsea, who have until 1pm today to submit their evidence and are pursuing the claim with the backing of their owner, Roman Abramovich, are considering citing a number of other incidents this season in evidence.

They include another clash involving Vertonghen, his grapple with Sheffield United’s Chris Basham in the semi-final of the Capital One Cup. Swansea’s Wayne Routledge had a red card rescinded after he was sent off for retaliation following a foul by QPR’s Karl Henry on New Year’s Day. Guardian Service

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
GO BACK
Error Image
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.
Screen Name Selection

Hello

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.