Ian Keatley omitted from Ireland World Cup training squad

Rhys Ruddock also absent from Joe Schmidt’s 45-man party due to arm injury

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has named his 45-man training squad for this year's Rugby World Cup.

Notable absentees from Schmidt's squad include Ian Keatley, who started Ireland's victorious Six Nations campaign, kicking 14 points in a 26-3 win away against Italy.

Leinster backrow Rhys Ruddock has also been omitted from the 45 after he fractured his arm during Emerging Ireland's 33-7 win over Uruguay last week.

Jack Conan and Noel Reid are the two representatives from that Emerging Ireland squad to make the provisional cut for the World Cup.

Alongside Conan, Leinster team mate Tadhg Furlong is the only other uncapped player selected.

The squad will begin preparations for the World Cup at the end of June before playing four Tests, starting with a trip to Cardiff to play Wales on August 8th.

On selection of the squad, Schmidt said: “The squad selection has been a long process with some very tight decisions. Some injured players who are getting close to full fitness have been included while others have missed out due to prolonged absence or lack of opportunity to demonstrate their full Test Match readiness.

“Rhys Ruddock would have been selected but has been ruled him out after fracturing his arm against Uruguay last week.”

Ireland World Cup training squad:

Forwards (23): Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster),Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster), Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)*, Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)*, Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster), Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster), David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster), Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster), Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster), Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster), Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster), Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)

Backs (22): Isaac Boss (Terenure/Leinster), Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster), Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster), David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster), Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster), Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht), Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster), Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92), Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster), Simon Zebo (Cork Con/Munster)

*Denotes uncapped player