Irish team named for Nations Cup challenge at Dublin Horse Show

Bertram Allen, Greg Broderick, Denis Lynch and Cian O’Connor named on team

The team to represent Ireland in the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup today has been announced by team manager Robert Splaine.

The quartet will be hoping to repeat last year’s performance when the Irish team won the Aga Khan trophy.

The team will be represented by Bertram Allen (20) from Wexford with Noel Delahunty’s Hector Van D’Abdijhoeve; Greg Broderick (30) from Tipperary with Caledonia Stable’s MHS Going Global (ISH); Denis Lynch (40) from Tipperary with Lynch and Thomas Straumann’s All Star 5, and Cian O’Connor (36) from Meath with Adena Springs and Ronnoco Jump Ltd’s Good Luck.

Eight nations will compete for the Aga Khan trophy, with Ireland drawn third to jump. Splaine said; “We have four riders familiar with the big stage. If they can deliver their proven best we’ve a good chance to do very well”.