McQuaid resists McCorry challenge


While Pat McQuaid resisted the challenge of Myles McCorry for the presidency at the annual general meeting of the Federation of Irish Cyclists in Malahide on Saturday and Dermot Dignam also had an expected win over John O'Mahony to retain the position of chairman of the development committee there was the most unusual outcome of a tie after the ballot for chairman of the coaching committee. The outgoing Brendan Donoghue and his challenger Paddy Doran received 40 votes each and this led to a lengthy discussion on how to resolve the situation.

McQuaid was reluctant to give a casting vote and while some delegates maintained there should be another ballot others wanted to leave it to the FIC Board to decide.

Eventually it was agreed that as Donoghue had not been defeated he would remain on the board as chairman of the coaching committee but the coaching responsibilities will be shared with Doran.

In the presidency ballot McQuaid had the support of 65 delegates while 16 voted for McCorry. It was more clear cut between Dignam and O'Mahony as the verdict was 70-9.

Paddy Griffin and Peter Purfield were unopposed and were ratified to continue in control of leisure and mountain bike affairs.

Jack Watson, the secretary, treasurer Peter Thornton, Frankie Campbell, Tommy Campbell and Pierce Butler were entitled to stay on for another year but Frankie Campbell announced that he would not continue in the unofficial role of national team director and just remain as chairman of the sporting committee. A priority for the board now must be the appointment of a national team director.

Thornton confirmed that after expenditure during his first year in office of £263,736 there was a surplus of £20,740.

At the champions medals presentation on Saturday night the cyclist of the year award went to Raymond Clarke.