Waterford and Tipperary not in Munster Hurling League

John Meyler’s first game in charge of Cork against Limerick while Clare play Kerry

Only four counties will contest the upcoming Munster Hurling League, which begins on Saturday December 30th.

Cork, Limerick, Clare and Kerry will play-off over three round-robin games, with the final set for January 21st. Both All-Ireland finalists Waterford and 2016 All-Ireland champions Tipperary decided not to compete again this year.

Instead, new Cork hurling manager John Meyler will open his term in charge against Limerick in Mallow, Clare playing Kerry in Ennis on the same date. The start date was brought forward due to the Allianz Hurling League beginning on an earlier date in 2018 at the end of January – the reason Tipperary manager Michael Ryan decided not to compete.

“The Munster league format wasn’t going to be conducive for us, was going to bring us right up to the start of the National Hurling League, is too much so unfortunately we’re going to withdraw from it again,” he said.


The McGrath Cup in football will also see only Cork, Clare, Limerick and Waterford compete; holders Kerry and Tipperary both withdrew.

Ian O'Riordan

Ian O'Riordan

Ian O'Riordan is an Irish Times sports journalist writing on athletics