Just one change for Tyrone as Monaghan keep same line-up

Match is the second quarter-final featuring Tyrone and Monaghan in three seasons

Tyrone have announced one change for Saturday’s All-Ireland quarter-final against Ulster champions Monaghan at Croke Park.

Corner back Cathal McCarron returns from injury and resumes in place of Rory Brennan, who lined out against Sligo in the final qualifier round.

Monaghan list the same starting 15 as lined out during last month's provincial final win against Donegal. Chris McGuinness returns to the match-day panel in place of Paul Meegan.

It is the second quarter-final featuring Tyrone and Monaghan in three seasons. The previous encounter two years ago, when Monaghan were also champions, was notable for Seán Cavanagh’s rugby tackle on Conor McManus, to which is often erroneously attributed the motivation for introducing the black card, the sanction to combat cynical fouling. It had been introduced at the GAA’s annual congress four months previously.



That match was won by Tyrone, who have contested more All-Ireland quarter-finals, 11, than any county apart from Kerry and Dublin, 15 and 14 respectively. The county has broken even in those fixtures, winning five, losing five and drawing the 2005 match with Dublin. Monaghan have contested only three quarter-finals, losing all three – coincidentally against the three counties who have most frequently reached the stage: Tyrone, Dublin and Kerry.

Donegal are the last of the quarter-finalists to name a team and that is due to be announced early this afternoon but it’s likely we won’t know until Saturday evening the precise lineout.

TYRONE (SFC v Monaghan): N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron; R McNabb, J McMahon,P Harte; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; T McCann, M Bradley, C Meyler; D McCurry, S Cavanagh (capt), C McAliskey.

Subs: M O'Neill, L Brennan, R Brennan, C Clarke,R Donnelly, P Hughes, D McBride, C McCann, Justin McMahon, P McNulty, R O'Neill, B Tierney.

MONAGHAN: R Beggan; C Walshe, V Corey,R Wylie; D Mone, McAdam, K O'Connell; O Lennon, F Kelly; K Duffy, D Hughes, O Duffy; D Malone, K Hughes, C McManus (capt).

Subs: C Mohan, D Wylie, C Boyle, J McCarron, D Clerkin, P Finlay, S Gollogly, S Carey, T Kerr, R McAnespie, C McGuinness

Seán Moran

Seán Moran

Seán Moran is GAA Correspondent of The Irish Times