Loughrea brush aside Beagh to book their place in Galway hurling final

First-half goals from Johnny O’Loughlin and Johnny Coen break Beagh’s challenge



Beagh's maiden Galway SHC semi-final appearance ended with a whimper as goals from Johnny Coen and Johnny O'Loughlin sent Loughrea to their fourth final in five years.

Stage fright seemed to take hold of Beagh, who never came close to the two-times champions, who led by ten points by half-time.

Kevin Keehan goaled from a free late on for Beagh, but they could not survive with Loughrea's inspirational forwards, especially Neil Keary, who hit nine points.

Loughrea opened out a 0-4 to 0-0 lead before Beagh got their first score in the 12th minute through a Kevin Keehan free, but the dead ball accuracy of Keary kept Loughrea clocking up the scores. He landed his fourth to make it 0-6 to 0-2 in the 19th minute and two minutes later they struck for the crucial goal from O’Loughlin.


Beagh responded with points from Pat Divney and Adrian Tuohey to close the gap to six points two minutes from the break.

But then Coen gathered a break to fire home Loughrea's second goal and all but break the Beagh challenge.

LOUGHREA: N Murray; T Regan, D McClearn, E Mahony; V Maher, B Mahony (0-1), S Sweeney (0-1); E Mahony, G Keary; N Keary (0-9, 0-4 frees, 0-1 65), J Coen (1-2), P Hoban (0-1); J O'Loughlin (1-2), J Maher (0-2), J Ryan. Subs: T Hoban for Ryan (42 mins), J Dooley for Regan (55 mins), S McCormack for Keary (58 mins).
BEAGH: K O'Grady; E Tuohey, J Morris, B McGuane; PJ McAllen (0-1), R Gantley, M Geaghan; D Landers, J Divney (0-1); J Gantley, K Keehan (1-6, all frees), A Tuohey (0-2); P Landers, K Divney, P Divney (0-1). Subs: T McKeown for McAllen (56 mins).
Referee: John Keane.