Derry hold firm to leave Cavan searching for first league win

Visitors defence resolute at the death with Cavan left to rue missed opportunities

Cavan 1-11 Derry 1-12

Derry’s defence stood firm at Breffni Park to leave Cavan still pointless in Division Two of the Allianz League.

The Oak Leafers’ brilliant rearguard action in the final 15 minutes ensured they maintained their 100% record in the campaign.

Damien Barton’s men had the better start but Cavan rallied to lead by a point after 22 minutes.


Derry should have leaped into the lead in the 26th minute but Ryan Bell's tame penalty was easily saved by Cavan goalkeeper Raymond Galligan.

In a cracking contest, two wonder points from Cavan midfielder Gearoid McKiernan helped his side secure a 0-6 to 0-5 interval lead.

The blues would be left to rue the fact that they recorded eight first half wides - double Derry’s tally - in the first half.

Wind-aided Derry had a whirlwind start to the second half with Cailean O’Boyle goaling after just 90 seconds which left Cavan nursing a two point deficit.

The game was turned on its head in the 55th minute when Cavan substitute Michael Argue scored 1-8 apiece.

Mark Lynch fired over three frees to give Derry the lead again and with it renewed momentum.

Cavan pressed hard in the dregs of the game but several efforts at goal were blocked by tigerish Derry defending.

Cavan: R Galligan; P Faulkner, K Clarke, K Brady; C Brady, C Moynagh, F Flanagan; D Givney (0-1), G McKiernan (0-3, 1f); M Reilly (0-1, 1f), T Corr (0-1), D McVeety (0-1); C Mackey (0-1), E Keating (0-1, 1f), P O'Connor (0-1).

Subs: M Argue (1-0) for K Brady (47); J Hayes for D McVeety (50); S Johnston (0-1, 1f) for P O'Connor (53); T Hayes for E Keating (60); C Conroy for G McKiernan B.C (64); E Henry for S Johnston B.C (74).

Derry: E McNicholl; K McKaigue, C McKaigue, C Mullan; G McKinless, M Craig (0-1), D Heavron (0-1); E Bradley (0-1), M Lynch (0-3, 3f); B Heron (0-1), C McFaul (0-2), C Bradley; C O'Boyle (1-0), R Bell, J Kielt (0-2, 1f).

Subs: E McGuckin for C O'Boyle (46); N Loughlin for R Bell (51); S Heavron (0-1)for B Heron (56); C McAtamney for E Bradley (68); D McKinless for C Bradley (72); N Forester for G McKinless (73).

Referee: P Neilan (Roscommon)