Top internationals withdraw from panel for Rhodes


THE FINALS of the Irish Bridge Union's all Ireland master intermediate A and B club pairs championships will be decided at the Mullingar Centre on May 18th-19th.

Some £1,110 will be awarded in prizes, with the winners of each grade receiving £150.

The internationals D Garvey and M O Briain have withdraw from the panel from which will be selected the IBU team of three pairs to represent Ireland in the open championships of the World Olympiad in Rhodes, Greece, from October 19th to November 2nd.

The other squad members are R Brennan with P Scannell; R Timlin with Dr GM Keaveney; P Pigot with D MacAonghusa; T Hanlon with Dr H McGann; and J Comyn with BJ O'Brien.

The major pairs championship (Waterford Crystal Trophy) of the Tramore congress, held in the Grand Hotel, and the Christian Brothers School, was won by K Lennon, and J McCormack.

Runners up were T Tierney, and M Lavelle.

Third prize went to T Mulcahy, and J Spratt. Intermediate prizes: 1, A Twomey, C Lonergan; 2, M Cronin, F McManamy.

Best locals: N and A Grant. Sessional winners: M McGloughlin, H Lillis, G Watson, E O'Hara.

Team championship: 1, D and A Dillon, M Atkinson, M Kennefick; 2, P Maguire, M Trench, BJ O'Brien, E Stewart. Best intermediates: P and B O'Keeffe, S McGuire, C O'Connell. Co Waterford prize: N and A Grant, P Holden, D Kearns.

Mixed teams: 1, Lennon/McCormack, G Connolly, A Power; 2, D Doheny, J. O'Meara, B Ryan, P Grier.

Mixed pairs: 1, K Byrne, P Finnegan; 2, J Kiely, M Hickey; 3, T Prendergast, A. Heffernan. Best locals: M Davenport, C Walshe. Intermediate B pairs: 1, M Walsh, R Langford; 2, B Myles, M Hackett; 3, T Martin, D Quinn.

Best locals: F Murphy, C Walshe. Sessionals: T and F Jordan; L and A McKay.

South Munster Region's TSB Bank pairs championship Overall winners: D O'Leary, D O'Driscoll. Competition A: 1, D O'Herlihy, J Duncan; 2, B Moynihan, A. O'Donoghue; 3, M Walsh, C Desmond. B: 1, K Jagoe, K Moloney; 2, D Devlin M O'Regan; 3, G Morrin, AM Love. C: 1, C Roche, E Hegarty; 2, M and J Sullivan 3 M O'Brien, C McSweeney. D: 1, T O'Sullivan, S Flavin; 2, M and J Coughlan; 3, M Berkeley, K Bonner.

The south of Ireland congress continues in the Lake Hotel, Killarney, until May 19th. Entries: Maureen Lyne (064-31057).

The Arklow open pairs championship will start at 1.30 p.m. in the Arklow Bay Hotel on May 19th. Entries: Eileen Cleary (0402-32689).

A two session intermediate eight pairs tournament will take place in the Malahide Regional Club, Co Dublin, on May 26th (2.30 p.m.), and there will be a novice pairs that night.

Entries: Helena Redmond (01 8452355).