New homes schemes in South Dublin

Value to be found but few new schemes earmarked for delivery this year

The South Dublin region is frequently confused with suburbs that actually belong in Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown and South County Dublin. South Dublin actually refers to Ballyboden, Clondalkin, Templeogue, Tallaght, Citywest, Adamstown and Lucan, among others. All areas are in close proximity to the M50 route around the city and close to the main roads travelling south and west. They have strong appeal for buyers with links to the regions and who travel for their job as they can be on the road quickly without having to navigate city centre traffic. Improved rail links to the city with the Luas running to Saggart and regular bus services mean the city centre has become very accessible too. First time buyers are likely to find better value too with many homes available around Lucan and Citywest from about €400,000. The listing would indicate though that there are few new homes schemes of a major scale earmarked for delivery in South Dublin this year.