Nominations open for EY Entrepreneur of the Year awards

Some 24 entrepreneurs to be selected as finalists, with new sustainability award

Nominations have opened for this year’s EY Entrepreneur of the Year awards, which is now in its 25th year.

This year’s programme will see 24 companies from across the island selected to compete across three categories – emerging, established and international – with eight finalists chosen per award. In addition, a new award is to be presented to the finalists seen to be making the biggest contribution towards environmental sustainability through their business.

Last year's overall EY Entrepreneur of the Year winner was Brian O'Sullivan, founder and chief executive of Zeus Packaging. Previous winners include Denis O'Brien, Aidan Heavey, Nicola Mitchell, Pádraig Ó Céidigh, Liam Casey and Patrick and John Collison of Stripe.

Anne Heraty, co-founder of CPL Resources and the first woman to win the overall award in 2006, chairs the judging panel once again this year. In addition, Aimee Connolly, chief executive of Sculpted by Aimee and winner of the emerging entrepreneur category last year, has been announced as a new member of the panel.


While most nominations come from the entrepreneurs themselves, anyone can nominate a successful entrepreneur with their consent, including employees, company advisers and financiers. Nominations will close on February 28th.

The awards, which operate in more than 60 countries worldwide, work to recognise, promote and build a supportive community around Ireland’s high-growth entrepreneurs. The Irish Times is a media partner.

Charlie Taylor

Charlie Taylor

Charlie Taylor is a former Irish Times business journalist