Ireland Rugby Sevens squad for Tokyo Olympics named

Ireland will be competing in the event for the first ever time in Japan later this month

Ireland celebrate their Olympics qualification in Monaco in June. Photograph: Manuel Blondeau/Inpho

The 13-man squad who will represent Ireland in Rugby Sevens at the Tokyo Olympics has been announced.

This summer will be the first time Ireland have competed in the Olympic Sevens, which made its debut at the 2016 Rio Games.

The 13 players heading to Japan later this month are: Jordan Conroy, Billy Dardis, Ian Fitzpatrick, Foster Horan, Jack Kelly, Terry Kennedy, Adam Leavy, Hugo Lennox, Harry McNulty, Gavin Mullin, Greg O’Shea, Mark Roche and Bryan Mollen.

Ireland qualified for the Olympics by virtue of winning a repechage tournament in Monaco in June.


The Sevens tournament will run from Monday July 26th through to Wednesday July 28th. Ireland have been drawn in Pool C, alongside South Africa, the USA and Kenya.

There are three pools in total, with the top two sides from each - and the two best third-placed sides - progressing to the quarter-finals.

Ahead of the Games, Ireland captain Billy Dardis said: “Having the honour of being selected to captain Ireland at the Olympics is special and I don’t think I’ll come to realise the enormity of it for some time to come.

“Going to Tokyo, we as a squad are representing so much more than ourselves and our families, but Irish Sport and Irish Rugby on the biggest sporting stage. To lead this group out at the Olympics will be an extremely proud moment.”

Greg O’Shea - the winner of Love Island 2019 and a former Youth Olympian - has been named in the squad, and he said: “The Olympics is the pinnacle of sport, so to represent Ireland at the Games is a huge honour and it means even more to be there playing alongside my mates.

“All the hard work and sacrifice has been worth it and now I just cannot wait to get out there and play.”

Team Ireland now consists of 79 officially selected athletes, with more than 110 athlete spots up for grabs across 19 sports. The Olympics will run from July 23rd to August 8th.

Ireland Sevens team for Tokyo:
Billy Dardis (Terenure, capt)
Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers)
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne)
Foster Horan (Lansdowne)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University)
Terry Kennedy (St Mary's College)
Adam Leavy (Lansdowne)
Hugo Lennox (Skerries)
Harry McNulty (UCD)
Gavin Mullin (UCD)
Greg O'Shea (Shannon)
Mark Roche (Lansdowne)
Bryan Mollen (Blackrock College)