Doyle’s contribution helps CBC Monkstown overcome CUS challenge

Late mass melee mars exciting Leinster Senior Cup clash

CBC Monkstown 18 CUS 11

A serious cameo role by replacement Sean Doyle provided CBC Monkstown with the impact they were looking for to make it past CUS and into the Leinster Schools Senior Cup quarter-final at Donnybrook yesterday.

The centre replaced Patrick Rogers in the 51st minute with the game in the melting pot at 3-3. Two minutes later, in his first big contribution, Doyle sliced through the CUS cover to score the game's opening try.

It was just what the match was crying out for. Both schools kicked more than they should have and chances were at a premium in a scoreless first half.


It was a safety first approach in what was an evenly contested set-to between the forwards with CUS captain Hugh O’Connor to the fore.

Standards improved after the interval as CBC pressure earned a penalty for their outhalf Ben Mahon to make it 3-0 before CUS centre James O’Kane equalised in the 42nd minute. Doyle’s try made it 8-3 but O’Kane’s second penalty soon reduced the deficit to 8-6.

The next score would be vital. It came from Mahon’s penalty on the right. Then Doyle popped up as second receiver to send Mahon plunging for the line from a short, flat pass. The latter’s conversion made it 18-6 in the 66th minute.

A mass melee showed there was still plenty of passion left in the closing minutes. CUS grabbed a consolation try for replacement Brennan Meehan but O’Kane’s conversion attempt bounced back off the crossbar.

CBC MONKSTOWN: S Sweeney; D Porter, K Shaw, P Rogers, T O'Callaghan; B Mahon, R Jordan; M McGrath, A Holmes, E Clarke, J McAteer, H O'Neill (capt), R Courtney, M Hallam, J Halwax. Replacements: P Lyons for McAteer (34 mins - temp), C Byrden for Courtney (43 mins - temp), C Byrden for McGrath and S Doyle for Rogers (51 mins), P Lyons for O'Neill (58 - temp), P Lyons for O'Neill (66 mins), E McCabe for Jordan (68 mins).

CUS: A Craig; O McGovern, S Quinlan, J O'Kane, L McConkey; J Cox, H Cronin; H Bodkin, D Byrne; D O'Neill, D McCarthy; J O'Connor, A Fleming, L Garvey, H O'Connor (capt). Replacements: S Russell for J O'Connor (43 mins), S Butler for Bodkin (48 mins), L Opperman for McGovern (58 mins), C Byrne for Quinlan (61 mins), C Ó Cleirigh for McCarthy (66 mins), B Meehan for Fleming (68 mins).

Referee: B McNiece, Leinster Branch.