Russia’s Zakarin sees late break pay off with mountain win at Giro

Ireland’s Eddie Dunbar goes on the attack again before dropping back to help team-mate

Following on from his long-distance breakaway and superb third place on Thursday's stage of the Giro d'Italia, Eddie Dunbar was on the attack again on Friday's stage to Ceresole Reale. The Irishman was part of the day's big breakaway, with his Team Ineos squad seeking to put pressure on the other general classification teams.

Dunbar rode strongly but dropped back to help team-mate Pavel Sivakov. He was reeled in by the GC riders with 15 kilometres remaining. The stage was won by another rider who had been in the break, Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin), with the Russian reaching the summit finish 35 seconds ahead of Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott) and one minute 20 up on Mikel Landa (Movistar Team).

Dunbar was 35th, 17 minutes 10 seconds back, while Irish national champion Conor Dunne (Israel Cycling Academy) was 141st.

Overnight race leader Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates) was distanced by the big names but had enough of a buffer to hold his pink jersey. He is now two minutes 25 seconds ahead of the race Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo-Visma), with Zakarin jumping up to third overall.


Dunbar stays 28th overall and remains sixth in the best young riders classification. The race continues on Saturday with another tough mountain stage.


Stage 13, Pinerolo to Ceresole Reale-Lago Serrù: 1 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin 5:34.40, 2 M Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott) at 35 secs, 3 M Landa (Movistar Team) at 1.20, 4 R Carapaz (Movistar Team) at 1.38, 5 B Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) at 1.45, 6 R Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe) at 2.07.

Irish: 35 E Dunbar (Team Ineos) at 17.10; 141 C Dunne (Israel Cycling Academy) at 48.53.

Intermediate sprint at Couregne, km. 118.6: 1 José Rojas (Movistar Team) 10 pts, 2 F Masnada (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) 6, 3 N Conci (Trek-Segafredo) 3; 7 E Dunbar (Team Ineos).

General classification after stage 13: 1 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates) 54:28 .59 secs, 2 P Roglic (Team Jumbo-Visma) at 2.25, 3 I Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin) at 2.56, 4 B Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) at 3.06 secs, 5 V Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) at 4.09, 6 R Carapaz (Movistar Team) at 4.22.

Irish: 28 E Dunbar at 22.42; 140 C Dunne at 2:06.48 secs.

Points classification: 1 Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ) 194 pts, 2 P Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) 183, 3 R Carapaz (Movistar Team) 57

Mountains classification: 1 Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo) 90 pts, 2 I Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin) 42, 3 G Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo) 40; 17 Dunbar 9

Young riders classification: 1 Pavel Sivakov (Team Ineos) at 4:36.12 secs,; 2 M A Lopez (Astana Pro Team) at 35 secs , 3 V Madouas (Groupama-FDJ) at 4.11; 6 E Dunbar (Team Ineos) at 15.29.

Shane Stokes

Shane Stokes

Shane Stokes is a contributor to The Irish Times writing about cycling