Yvonne McMonagle guides Donegal to victory that seals promotion

Westmeath outgunned at Parnell Park

Donegal 3-17 Westmeath 0-13

Donegal are back to the top flight, following their relegation in 2014.

Inside forwards Geraldine McLaughlin, Yvonne McMonagle and Amber Barrett collected 3-13 between them against outclassed Westmeath. McMonagle was the star turn with a 2-5 haul from play, McLaughlin kicked six points, including four frees, and Barrett added 1-2, including a crucial first half goal.

Donegal were well in control, leading by 1-7 to 0-4, at the end of a first half that saw Westmeath register eight wides. Barrett’s goal in the 18th minute helped to provide the buffer, as the corner forward punched the ball to the net after Niamh Hegarty’s long-range free bounced back into play off the crossbar.

Westmeath did start well, a pair of Leona Archibald frees putting them two points clear, but Donegal were back level by the seventh minute. Karen Hegarty kicked an eighth-minute point for Westmeath but they wouldn’t score again until the final minute of the half.


Donegal took over, hitting 1-5 without reply and that proved a match-winning platform. l Maria Delahunty’s 30 metres free, with the last kick of the game, sealed the Division Three title for Waterford against Tipperary 1-13 to 1-12 at Semple Stadium.

DONEGAL: A McColgan; T Doherty, E Gallagher, K Wilson; T McCafferty, C Hegarty, D Foley; K Herron (0-1), K Guthrie (0-3, one free); E Ward, N Hegarty, G Houston; A Barrett (1-2), Y McMonagle (2-5), G McLaughlin (0-6, four frees). Subs: K Keeney for Wilson (39 mins), S McGruddy for Foley (48 mins), R Friel for N Hegarty (57 mins), B McLaughlin for G McLaughlin (57 mins).

WESTMEATH: S Keegan; F Coyle, L Brennan, T Durkan; F Claffey (0-1), J Rogers, A Martin; MA Foley, K McDermott; R O'Connor, L Archibald (0-7, frees), J Maher; C Blundell (0-1), L Walsh (0-2), K Hegarty (0-2). Subs: L McCartan for Maher (20 mins), C Kelly for O'Connor (h-t), S McGrath for Coyle (48 mins), A Brady for Durkan (52 mins).

Referee: K Delahunty (Tipperary).