Ulster U20 final: Tyrone hold on to beat Cavan in riveting decider

Cavan better side for long spells but winners timed run to perfection

Tyrone 0-11 Cavan 0-10

Tyrone held on to claim the Danny Murphy Cup in this riveting Ulster U20 final at Enniskillen.

Cavan were the better side for long spells but the winners timed their run to perfection, hitting the front for the first time with eight minutes to go, extending that lead to three before holding on against a late Cavan onslaught to take the title.

At half-time, Cavan were ahead by 0-6 to 0-5, having started well and routed the Tyrone kick-out, with Brían O’Rourke outstanding.

Speedster Darragh Lovett (two) and O'Rourke (two) helped propel the underdogs into a 0-6 to 0-3 lead but two frees from Man of the Match Ruairi Canavan cut the gap to the minimum at half-time.

Tyrone drew level from the throw-in with an excellent score from midfielder Ruairi McHugh but Cavan again moved two ahead through 18-year-old Lovett and a Fionntán O'Reilly free.

The Red Hands poured forward and despite some superb Cavan defending, registered five points in succession, the first four from Canavan, three frees and a brilliant sideline ball.

A great run from Sean O’Donnell was finished with a Gavin Potter point as Tyrone looked to pull away but Cavan summoned a rally at the death.

Two huge points from sub Daire Madden made it a one-point game. Cavan had one last chance but Fionntán O'Reilly's 40-metre free trailed just wide.

Cavan: Jake Norris, Cormac Brady, Cian Reilly, Eoghan Hartin, Niall Carolan, Cathal Leddy, Cormac McKeogh, Evan Kelly, Brían O'Rourke (0-2), Peter Devine, Fionntán O'Reilly (0-3f), Tiarnan Madden, Darragh Lovett (0-3), Fergal Smith, Turlough Farrelly

Subs: Caoláin Reilly for F Smith (ht), Daire Madden (0-2) for Farrelly (40), Conor Casey for Devine (47), Caolain McCabe for McKeogh (53), Sean Óg McGearty for Kelly (58)

Tyrone: Stephen McMenamin, Michael Rafferty, Brian Conway (0-1), Eoin Corry, James Donaghy, Steve Donaghy, Niall Devlin, Ruairi McHugh (0-1), Ciaran Daly, Conor Cush (0-1), Ciaran Bogue, Ruairi Canavan (0-7, 6f, one sl), Sean O'Donnell, Michael McGleenan, Luke Donnelly

Subs: Gavin Potter (0-1) for L McGarrity (34 mins), Cormac Devlin for Cush (52)

Referee: Enda McFeely (Donegal)

Latest Stories