Sligo’s sensational finish secures a first Connacht under-20 title win

Mayo led by five points with eight minutes to go at Markievicz Park

Sligo 4-4 Mayo 1-12

Sligo’s incredible late, late show earned them a first Connacht under-20 title as they beat Mayo by a point, 4-4 to 1-12, at Markievicz Park.

Five points down, 1-11 to 2-3, with eight minutes of normal time left, Sligo were also reduced to 14 players due to a straight red card for corner back Shane Molloy.

Mayo, who didn't hit the front until the 43rd minute, seemed in control thanks to a fortunate goal after 51 minutes from their best forward Paddy Heneghan, who contributed 1-3.


But Sligo's comeback began with a goal by Eoghan Smith, the home side's hero from their semi-final defeat of Roscommon a week previously.

Team captain Jack Lavin’s 59th-minute goal – a long-range point attempt that somehow went through and into the net – put Sligo a point up.

Sligo were a point up at the break, 2-3 to 0-8, as Jack Lavin’s brace of well-taken goals enthused the home fans.

Mayo, who hit seven wides in the first half, kept in touch with a series of fine points from Heneghan, with Frank Irwin also impressing.

Sligo didn’t score for 24 minutes of the second half and matters appeared to be going Mayo’s way until Sligo’s sensational finish.

SLIGO: K Davey; S Molloy, M McGowan, F O'Donnell; J Donlon (0-2), J Lavin (1-0), C Johnston; C Mulligan, J Keaney; M Henry, E Smith (1-1, one free), D Walsh, L Marren, L Deignan (0-1, one free), J Davitt (2-0).

Subs: O Flynn for M Henry (40 mins), G Duffy for Luke Marren, L Casserly for F O'Donnell (both 49), B Byrne for J Donlon (58), O Gorman for L Deignan (60+2).

MAYO: B O'Flaherty; A Morrison, R Keane, C Dawson; F Kelly, D McHugh, A Cosgrove; F Irwin (0-4, three frees), J Fallon (0-1); T O'Flaherty (0-1), D Thornton, S Morahan; R Morrin (0-2), P Heneghan (1-3), C O'Connell.

Subs: B Tuohy for C Dawson (37 mins), C MacHale for C O'Connell (41), N Treacy (0-1) for J Fallon (53), C Reid for R Morrin (60+1).

Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon).