Sending-off proves decisive as Kerry reclaim Munster minor crown from Tipp

Premier County denied in bid for Munster MFC three in a row

Kerry’s Micheal Burns and Liam Casey of Tipperary. Photograph: Lorraine O’Sullivan/Inpho

Kerry’s Micheal Burns and Liam Casey of Tipperary. Photograph: Lorraine O’Sullivan/Inpho


KERRY 0-15 TIPPERARY 0-10: Kerry ended a four-year barren spell without winning a Munster minor football title when they saw off the challenge of three-in-a-row seeking Tipperary in Fitzgerald Stadium, with the sending off of Tipperary’s Josh Keane proving decisive.

Kerry laid down a marker early with Conor Jordan winning some good ball at midfield, but Tipperary were well in this contest until over-fussy referee James Bermingham showed Tipperary centre forward Keane a harsh second yellow for a foul on Matthew Flaherty.

Tipperary were guilty of some poor shooting with four first-half wides and a number of efforts dropping short into Shane Ryan’s hands. Kerry’s full back line was impregnable while at the other end Jack Savage punished every Tipperary indiscretion. With Tipperary reduced to 14 with the dismissal of Keane, Kerry retired 0-8 to 0-5 in front at half-time.

Yet Tipperary resumed a transformed side, and rattled off three points to level the contest. However, once Kerry dropped their extra man David Foran back as a sweeper they regained the initiative and three more Savage points, saw them move clear. Conor Keane and Savage, who brought his haul to 0-10, then ensured Kerry were going to reclaim the Munster title for the first time since 2009.

KERRY: S Ryan; F Clifford, C O Luing, P O Conchuir; M Flaherty, D Foran, R Wharton; G Horan, C Jordan; M Burns (0-1), J Savage (0-10, 0-8 frees), K Shanahan; C Keane (0-2), S O’Connor (0-1), K Spillane (0-1). Subs: E O Conchuir for K Shanahan (22 mins), B Sugrue for M Flaherty (half-time), T O Se for S O’Connor (53 mins), T Brosnan for E O’Conchuir (60 mins).
TIPPERARY: J Brady; D Owens, J Feehan, W Connors; L Boland, R Mulcahy, K Fahey; L Casey (0-3), C O’Riordan (0-3, 0-1 free); P Shanahan, J Keane (0-1, free), C Lowry; A Tynan (0-3, 0-2 frees), T Kirwan, P Maher. Subs: P Louram for P Shanahan (half-time), S Quirke for L Boland (half-time), P White for T Kirwan (42 mins), M Connolly for K Fahey (54 mins), T Nolan for D Owens (56 mins).
Referee: J Bermingham (Cork).