Munster MFC semi-final: Tipperary hold nerve in frantic finish

Clare denied at Semple Stadium following late scores

Tipperary 0-16 Clare 2-9

Tipperary came from two points down late on to deny Clare at Semple Stadium last night, scoring three points in the dying minutes of the game to book their place in the July 5th decider. It will be the county’s fourth final appearance in five seasons.

It was tough luck on Clare, who were looking to qualify for the first minor football final in 21 years. They chalked up goals in either half through Cormac Murray and captain Keelan Sexton, but Tipp showed true grit to come through in the end. Tommy Nolan sparked the late revival, before Jack Kennedy's leveller was followed by the winning score from man-of-the-match Brendan Martin.

Opening score

The sides were level at half-time, 0-6 to 1-3. Murray registered a fine goal midway through the first half for Clare’s opening score of the game, taking advantage of a turnover to scorch through at the Killinan End.

Shortly after half-time, Sexton bagged Clare’s second three-pointer, collecting a pass from impressive substitute Conor Lynch before finding the net with a low drive.


Clare led by three points on three separate occasions in the second half but couldn’t close the deal against a Tipperary side that registered 11 wides.

TIPPERARY: C Manton; T Lowry, M Irwin, S Power (0-1); M Kehoe, D Owens, J Skehan; T Nolan (0-1), B McGrath (0-1); E Moloney (0-1), J Kennedy (0-5, three frees), R Peters (0-1); B Martin (0-5), S Quirke (0-1), J Delahunty. Subs: J Bergin for Delahunty (half-time), L Fahy for Skehan (37 mins), J Moloney for E Moloney (46 mins), T Fitzgerald for Kehoe (53 mins).

CLARE: K Roche; C O'Halloran, K Killeen, C Pyne; L Devitt, P Lillis, C Hehir; D Bohannon (0-1), C Downes; A Sweeney, K Sexton (1-3, 0-1 free), N McCarthy; C Murray (1-1), C Brennan (0-1), S Malone (0-2). Subs: N Murray for Pyne, C Lynch (0-1) for Sweeney (both half-time), J Lehane for Hehir (50 mins), J Morrissey for Murray (58 mins).

Referee: K Murphy (Cork).