Fitzmaurice forced to shuffle Kerry defence for Dublin clash

Mark Griffin replaces injured Killian Young for semi-final

 Kieran Donaghy will start on the bench for Kerry’s All-Ireland semi-final clash with Dublin on Sunday. Photograph: James Crombie/Inpho

Kieran Donaghy will start on the bench for Kerry’s All-Ireland semi-final clash with Dublin on Sunday. Photograph: James Crombie/Inpho


So they’ve pulled together a team after all, Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice naming a starting line-up for Sunday’s semi-final showdown against Dublin who between them have 27 All-Ireland winning medals, with another 15 such medals spread among the substitutes.

Missing through injury, as expected, is centre-back and three-time All-Ireland winner Killian Young, with Mark Griffin coming into the defence instead: Griffin is actually named at full-back, one of three changes from the quarter-final win over Cavan, with Fitzmaurice redesigning his defence in the process.

Peter Crowley will now start at centre-back, switching from the wing, with Marc Ó Sé, who started at full-back the last day, moving into the corner, with Fionn Fitzgerald coming out onto the wing.

A fit again Anthony Maher – who was replaced just prior to the Cavan game – resumes his place at midfield ahead of David Moran, as does James O’Donoghue at corner forward, with Kieran Donaghy thus dropping back down to the bench, alongside fellow three-time All-Ireland winner, Eoin Brosnan. Brosnan was tipped by some to start in place of Young, and yet Fitzmaurice has gone for youth over experience – as the 22-year-old Griffin, from the St Michael’s-Foilmore club in south Kerry, only made his championship debut in the Munster final win over Cork.

Indeed O’Donoghue’s return from a hamstring injury means Kerry will start with the same six forwards as in that Munster final. While Young’s loss remains considerable, Bryan Sheehan and Aidan O’Mahony, both four-time All-Ireland winners, have recovered from their injuries to be included on the bench, too.

It all means there are eight survivors from the side that started in the 2011 All-Ireland final defeat to Dublin: goalkeeper Brendan Kealy, Marc Ó Sé, Tomas Ó Sé, Anthony Maher, Darran and Declan O’Sullivan, Donnchadh Walsh and Colm Cooper, while Paul Galvin was introduced as a substitute.

KERRY (SF v Dublin): 1 B Kealy (Kilcummin); 2 M Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), 3 M Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore), 4 S Enright (Tarbert); 5 T Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), 6 P Crowley (Laune Rangers), 7 F Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes); 8 A Maher (Duagh), 9 J Buckley (Dr Crokes); 10 P Galvin (Finuge), 11 C Cooper (Dr Crokes, capt),12 D Walsh (Cromane); 13 Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar), 14 Declan O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), 15 J O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion). Subs: 16 B Kelly (Killarney Legion), 17 K Donaghy (Austin Stacks), 18 D Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys), 19 E Brosnan (Dr Crokes), 20 K O’Leary (Dr Crokes), 21 J Sherwood (Firies), 22 B Sheehan (St Mary’s), 23 P Curtin (Moyvane), 24 A O’Mahony (Rathmore), 25 M Geaney (Dingle), 26 P Geaney (Dingle).