Donegal’s Michael Murphy to captain International Rules side again

Five Mayo men on Paul Earley’s panel, with only one each from Kerry and Dublin

Ireland International Rules manager Paul Earley has named his 25-man panel for next month's one-game test against Australia in Perth.

Donegal's Michael Murphy will once again captain the Irish team when they face Australia at Patterson's Stadium November 22nd. Cork's Aidan Walsh will act as vice captain, with 15 counties represented in all.

Mayo is the best -represented county, with four home-based players selected (Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Kevin McLoughlin and Aidan O'Shea), along with Brisbane Lions' Pearse Hanley, also from Mayo, and the only AFL-based player included this year,

Three Tyrone players will represent Ireland, but only one each from Dublin (James McCarthy) and All-Ireland champions Kerry, with midfielder David Moran making the cut.


The team will depart Ireland on November 12th and will play a warm-up game in Melbourne on November 16th, giving the squad plenty of time to acclimatise for the one-game test. Ireland comfortably won the two-test series at home last year, when Australia fielded a team made entirely of indigenous players, whereas this time they have named effectively their All Star AFL squad.

“I’m pleased to confirm the 25 players who will represent Ireland in the latest series and we travel to Australia anticipating a very strong challenge from the hosts,” said Earley.

“The players who we have chosen have worked hard in recent weeks and and have shown many of the attributes that we hope will allow us to build on some of the promising aspects of last year’s series performances.

“As a group we are looking forward to showcasing all that is good about Gaelic football while representing Ireland.”

Ireland Panel (International Rules Series v Australia): Colm Begley (Laois), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone), Cathal Cregg (Roscommon), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Finian Hanley (Galway), Pearse Hanley (Brisbane Lions), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Lee Keegan (Mayo), James McCarthy (Dublin), Ciaran McDonald (Tipperary), Neil McGee (Donegal), Chrissy McKaigue (Derry), Kevin McKernan (Down), Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo), Conor McManus (Monaghan), David Moran (Kerry), Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Ross Munnelly (Laois), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Colm O'Neill (Cork), Pádraig O'Neill (Kildare), Paddy O'Rourke (Meath), Aidan O'Shea (Mayo), Aidan Walsh (Cork).

Ian O'Riordan

Ian O'Riordan

Ian O'Riordan is an Irish Times sports journalist writing on athletics