Seanad election results: Full list of Senators voted in to new Seanad

Of the 60 Seanators, 49 are elected and the new Taoiseach will appoint remaining 11

Former Sinn Féin MEP for Dublin Lynn Boylan has been elected to the Seanad on the final count along with outgoing Green Party Senator Pippa Hackett and Labour Cllr Annie Hoey. Video: Oireachtas News


Of the 60 Senators who make up the Seanad 49 have been elected to the five vocational and two university panels.

The Taoiseach of the new government will nominate 11 Senators.

Seats won, by party:

Fianna Fáil: 16 seats (13 men, 3 women)

Fine Gael: 12 (12 men, 0 women

Sinn Féin: 5 (3 men, 2 women)

Labour: 5 ( 1 man, 4 women)

Greens: 2 (0 men, 2 women)

Independents: 9 (6 men, 3 women)

Former TDs elected who lost seats in 2020 general election: (6 FF, 2 FG)

New Senators: 23

Female Senators: 11 (In last Seanad 13 elected, 4 Taoiseach’s nominees )

The following are the 49 Senators, listed in order of their election, to the vocational and university panels:

CULTURAL AND EDUCATIONAL PANEL (Five Senators, 20 candidates)

Electorate 1,691 - TDs, outgoing Senators and city and county councillors

Valid poll 1,133

Quota 1,133,000 (multiplied by 1,000 to avoid fractions in later counts)

Sean Kyne, Moycullen, Co Galway (FG) (82 first preference votes)

Malcolm Byrne, Gorey, Co Wexford (FF) (71)

Lisa Chambers, Castlebar, Co Mayo (FF) (99)

John McGahon, Dundalk, Co Louth (FG) (102)

Fintan Warfield, Inchicore, Dublin (SF) (151)

AGRICULTURAL PANEL (11 Senators, 25 candidates)

Valid poll 1,130

Quota 94,167

Victor Boyhan, Dun Laoghaire, Co Dublin (Ind) (89 first preference votes)

Denis O’Donovan, Schull, Co Cork (FF) (83)

Paul Daly, Kilbeggan, Co Westmeath (FF) (71)

Niall Blaney, Letterkenny, Co Donegal (FF) (58)

Tim Lombard, Minane Bridge, Co Cork (FG) (56)

Paddy Burke, Castlebar, Co Mayo (FG) (63)

Michael D’Arcy, Gorey, Co Wexford (FG) (48)

Eugene Murphy, Strokestown, Co Roscommon (FF) (44)

Pippa Hackett, Tullamore, Co Offaly (GP) (76)

Annie Hoey, Drogheda, Co Louth (Lab) (63)

Lynn Boylan, Clondalkin, Dublin (SF) (80)

LABOUR PANEL (11 Senators, 20 candidates)

Valid poll 1,133

Quota 94,417 20

Jerry Buttimer, Bishopstown, Co Cork (FG) (105 first preference votes)

John Cummins, Waterford (FG) (92)

Robbie Gallagher, Silverstream, Co Monaghan (FF) (83)

Joe O’Reilly, Bailieboro, Co Cavan (FG) (73)

Ned O’Sullivan, Listowel, Co Kerry (FF) (67)

Shane Cassells, Navan, Co Navan (FF) (70)

Pat Casey, Glendalough, Bray, Co Wicklow (FF) (56)

Gerard Craughwell, Leopardstown, Dublin (Ind) (79)

Pauline O’Reilly, Galway City (GP) (80)

Paul Gavan, Castleconnell, Co Limerick (SF) (72)

Marie Sherlock, Phibsborough, Dublin (Lab) (79)

INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL PANEL (Nine Senators, 34 candidates)

Valid poll 1,135

Quota 113,501

Micheál Carrigy, Ballinalee, Co Longford (FG) (47 first preference votes)

Barry Ward, Dun Laoghaire, Co Dublin (FG)(30)

Aidan Davitt, Mullingar, Co Westmeath (FF) (78)

Ollie Crowe, Galway city (FF) (64)

Catherine Ardagh, Crumlin, Dublin (FF) (62)

Frances Black, Dublin (Ind) (76)

Mark Wall, Athy, Co Kildare (Lab) (84)

Sharon Keogan, Duleek, Co Meath (Ind)(49)

Elisha McCallion, Derry (SF) (95)

ADMINISTRATIVE PANEL (Seven Senators, 19 candidates)

Valid poll 1,134

Quota 141,751

Mark Daly, Kenmare, Co Kerry (FF) (167 first preference votes)

Diarmuid Wilson, Cavan (FF) (100)

Fiona O’Loughlin, Newbridge, Co Kildare (FF) (81)

Martin Conway, Ennistymon, Co Clare (FG) (90)

Garret Ahearn, Clonmel, Co Tipperary (FG) (90)

Rebecca Moynihan, Rialto, Dublin (Lab) (104)

Niall Ó Donnghaile, Belfast (SF) (120)

NATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF IRELAND PANEL (Three Senators, 19 candidates)

Electorate 120,000 Valid poll 38,118

Quota 9,530

Rónán Mullen (Ind) (9,642 first preference votes)

Michael McDowell (Ind) (8,951)

Alice Mary Higgins (Ind)(4,944)

UNIVERSITY OF DUBLIN, TRINITY COLLEGE (Three Senators, 10 candidates)

Electorate 36,564

Valid poll 15,064

Quota 3,761

David Norris (Ind) (3,646 first preference votes)

Ivana Bacik (Lab) (3,489)

Lynn Ruane (Ind) (2,780)