How the Seanad voted

Senators vote 33 to 25 in favour of referendum

How the Seanad voted on the Thirty-Second Amendment of the Constitution (Abolition of Seanad Eireann) Bill 2013, allowing a referendum on the future of the Upper House:

Fianna Fáil

Thomas Byrne (No)

Mark Daly (No)


Terry Leyden (No)

Marc MacSharry (No)

Brian Ó Domhnaill (No)

Lábhrás Ó Murchú (No)

Paschal Mooney (No)

Darragh O’Brien (No)

Denis O’Donovan (No)

Ned O’Sullivan (No)

Averil Power (No)

Jim Walsh (No)

Mary White (No)

Diarmuid Wilson (No)

Fine Gael

Terry Brennan (Yes)

Colm Burke (Yes)

Eamonn Coghlan (Yes)

Paul Coghlan (Yes)

Michael Comiskey (Yes)

Martin Conway (Yes)

Maurice Cummins (Yes)

Deirdre Clune (Yes)

Jim D’Arcy (Yes)

Michael D’Arcy (Yes)

Imelda Henry (Yes)

Cait Keane (Yes)

Tony Mulcahy (Yes)

Michael Mullins (Yes)

Hildegarde Naughton (Yes)

Catherine Noone (Yes)

Pat O’Neill (Yes)

Tom Sheahan (Yes)


Ivana Bacik (Yes)

John Gilroy (Yes)

Jimmy Harte (Yes)

Aideen Hayden (Yes)

Lorraine Higgins (Yes)

John Kelly (Yes)

Denis Landy (Yes)

Marie Moloney (Yes)

Mary Moran (Yes)

Susan O’Keeffe (Yes)

John Whelan (Yes)

Sinn Féin

David Cullinane (No)

Trevor Ó Clochartaigh (No)

Kathryn Reilly (No)


Sean Barrett (No)

Paul Bradford (FG) (Yes)

John Crown (No)

Fidelma Healy-Eames (FG) (Yes)

James Heffernan (Lab) (No)

Fiach Mac Conghail (Taoiseach's nominee) (Absent)

Rónán Mullen (No)

David Norris (No)

Mary Ann O’Brien (Taoiseach’s nominee) (No)

Marie-Louise O’Donnell (Taoiseach’s nominee) (Yes)

Feargal Quinn (No)

Jillian van Turnhout (Taoiseach’s nominee) (Yes)

Katherine Zappone (Taoiseach's nominee) (No)

Cathaoirleach Paddy Burke only votes in the event of a tie

Marie O'Halloran

Marie O'Halloran

Marie O'Halloran is Parliamentary Correspondent of The Irish Times