Eighth Amendment committee accepts Citizens’ Assembly vote

Three members voted against and two abstained, but 15 supported recommendation

Senator Rónán Mullen and Mattie McGrath TD both voted against the recommendation. Photograph: Dara Mac Dónaill

The Oireachtas committee examining the Eighth Amendment has made its first significant decision.

At a late-night meeting, the committee agreed to accept the recommendation by the Citizens’ Assembly not to retain Article 40.3.3 of the Constitution in full.

The decision to vote was proposed by Sinn Féin TD Jonathan O'Brien and supported by Fianna Fáil TD Billy Kelleher.

The motion was supported by 15 members of the committee.


Three members voted against the proposal – Independent TD Mattie McGrath, Independent Senator Rónán Mullen and Fine Gael TD Peter Fitzpatrick.

Two members, Fianna Fáil TDs James Browne and Anne Rabbitte, abstained. Both stressed their desire to hear more evidence before deciding how to proceed.

Senator Mullen criticised the decision of the Oireachtas committee as “cynical and farcical” but said members would not have the final say on the future of Article 40.3.3.