Munster name strong side for Ulster


Munster have named a strong starting XV to face Ulster in their final Guinness Interprovincial series match at Ravenhill on Friday evening.

Still without the injured Jim Williams and Anthoney Foley, who will be replaced by Donnacha O'Callaghan and Alan Quinlan, the Heineken Cup finalists will nevertheless travel to Belfast brimming with confidence of securing a win.

Ronan O’Gara, who missed Cork Con’s AIL Division One final on Saturday, will once again be pulling the strings at out-half.

However, a Munster win may not be enough to retain the title they have held for the last three years. Leinster, who beat Munster in the Celtic League final earlier in the year, can put themselves in pole position with a high-scoring win over Connacht at the Sportsgrounds this evening.

Ulster: B Cunningham; S Coulter, R Constable, S McDowell, T Howe; P Wallace, N Doak; J Fitzpatrick, M Sexton, S Best, P Johns, G Longwell, W Brosnihan, R Nelson, A Ward (Capt). Replacements: N Brady, B Young, A Kearney, A Hughes, K Campbell, J Cunningham, J Topping.

Munster: D Crotty, J Kelly, R Henderson, JHolland, A Horgan, R O'Gara, P Stringer; P Clohessy, F Sheahan, J Hayes, M Galway (Capt), P O'Connell, D O'Callaghan, D Wallace, A Quinlan. Replacements: M Horan, J Fogarty, M O’Driscoll, C McMahon, M Prendergast, M Mullins, J Staunton.