Myspace loses all content uploaded before 2016
Social network blames faulty server for loss of text, photos, video and 50 million tracks
Myspace has accidentally deleted all content uploaded before 2016. Photograph: Martin Keene/PA Wire
Myspace, the once-mighty social network, has lost every single piece of content uploaded to its site before 2016, including millions of songs, photos and videos with no other home on the internet.
The company is blaming a faulty server migration for the mass deletion, which appears to have happened more than a year ago, when the first reports appeared of users unable to access older content. The company has confirmed to online archivists that the music has been lost permanently, dashing hopes that a back-up could be used to permanently protect the collection for future generations.
More than 50 million tracks from 14 million artists have been lost, including the songs that led to the rise of the “Myspace Generation” cohort of artists, such as Lily Allen, Arctic Monkeys and Yeasayer.
As well as music, the site has accidentally deleted pictures and video stored on its servers.
Even though many users had deserted Myspace by the end of the noughties for newer social networks such as Facebook, the site retained a significant user base well into this decade due to the musicians who had cultivated their fan followings on it. A disastrous relaunch in 2013 led to most bands having to rebuild their communities from scratch.
That relaunch also cleared much of the text content on the site, including “wall posts” between users. But music and images were left up, in the hope that they could be the building blocks for a music-focussed second life that never came.
Even so, the site still has some die-hard users, such as Kenneth Scalir, who told the Guardian in 2018: “Myspace is such a huge part of my life. I’ve met new people I otherwise wouldn’t have met and learned about new fashions and bands.”
Some have even wondered whether the deletion was, at best, a happy accident for the embattled company, which was purchased by Time Inc in 2016.
Myspace initially claimed the deletion was a temporary error, with customer support staff telling one user the issue would be fixed, but by July last year it was publicly acknowledging that no such fix was forthcoming.
There is now has a banner at the top of the site telling visitors: “As a result of a server migration project, any photos, videos, and audio files you uploaded more than three years ago may no longer be available on or from Myspace. We apologise for the inconvenience and suggest that you retain your back-up copies. If you would like more information, please contact our data protection officer.”
The news of Myspace’s deletion has prompted comparisons with other early internet communities that closed down, deleting huge swathes of online history in the process, from website maker Geocities to failed social network Google Plus.
But those sites managed to give enough warning of their deletion for archivists to capture the heart of their communities for posterity. In 2016, the Internet Archive launched a searchable collection of every GIF ever posted to Geocities, after mirroring the entire network in 2009, shortly before it closed down.
This weekend, the Internet Archive announced it was working to preserve Google Plus posts before that site is deleted in April. The archive estimates it costs about $2 to permanently archive 1 gigabyte of data. – Guardian