Kidney calls on Madigan and O'Donnell


Rugby:Ian Madigan has been called into the Ireland squad ahead of the trip to Murrayfield to face Scotland in the Six Nations on Sunday. The Leinster outhalf has been drafted in after it was confirmed Connacht centre Dave McSharry will be unable to train because of a “niggling groin injury”.

Ulster backrow Chris Henry has also been ruled out - for “approximately four weeks” - after an MRI scan today confirmed a cartilage tear in his knee will require surgery and a month’s recuperation.

The flanker has been replaced by Tommy O’Donnell of Munster, but it is Madigan’s inclusion that is of more interest, for the Leinster player is not ideally suited as cover for centre, playing as he does at outhalf or fullback for his province.

With Jonathan Sexton injured, Ronan O’Gara is set to deputise in Edinburgh, while the inclusion of Paddy Jackson suggested a place on the bench for the Ulsterman.

However, it was Madigan who impressed in the role in the PRO12 fixtures over the weekend, when kicking four out of five penalties in the bonus-point win over Treviso on Saturday. That did not lead to a call-up for the 23-year-old but McSharry’s misfortune has opened the back door.

Whether that indicates a rethink from Declan Kidney on what is to be done in Sexton's absence is doubtful, however. The coach had few options were he of a mind to call up a centre in place of McSharry. Fergus McFadden, Luke Marshall, Darren Cave, Keith Earls and Luke Fitzgerald were already in the squad, thanks to the fact Gordon D'Arcy has been ruled out of the remainder of the tournament.

Scotland, meanwhile, have called up an additional 13 players to their squad.

Included in the 13 are two props – Glasgow’s Jon Welsh and Sale’s Alasdair Dickinson – due to the fact that regular tighthead Euan Murray is unavailable for the game for reasons of his Christian faith.

The players called up are forwards: Jon Welsh, Dougie Hall, Tom Ryder, John Barclay (all Glasgow Warriors), Alasdair Dickinson and Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks) and Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), backs: Sean Kennedy, Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne, Peter Murchie (all Glasgow Warriors), Tom Heathcote (Bath and Nikki Walker (Worcester Warriors).

The Scotland team will be announced on Wednesday.

Ireland Squad (30):Rory Best, Darren Cave, Tom Court, Sean Cronin, James Coughlan, Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Declan Fitzpatrick, Craig Gilroy, Robbie Henshaw, Jamie Heaslip, Iain Henderson, Paddy Jackson, Rob Kearney, David Kilcoyne, Ian Madigan, Luke Marshall, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Sean O'Brien, Donncha O'Callaghan, Tommy O'Donnell, Brian O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Peter O'Mahony, Eoin Reddan, Mike Ross, Donnacha Ryan, Lewis Stevenson, Devin Toner.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.