Josh Adams suspended by Wales for breaching Covid rules

Winger will miss the Six Nations clash with Ireland in Cardiff on Sunday afternoon

Days before Wales' opening Six Nations game against Ireland, winger Josh Adams has been released from the Welsh squad after being suspended for the first two matches of the Six Nations following a breach of Covid-19 protocols.

After the full squad were released from camp on Saturday afternoon, Adams attended a gender reveal gathering with his immediate family present on Sunday.

After the squad joined back up together on Tuesday at the Vale Resort, the breach was immediately raised and acted upon - with Adams now out of Wales’ opening fixtures against Ireland and Scotland.

“We are extremely disappointed with the breach and have acted robustly and swiftly to take all appropriate measures,” said Wales head coach Wayne Pivac.


“All players and management have received detailed briefings and education regarding our protocols, and everyone has a responsibility to abide by the rules. On this occasion, Josh has made an error of judgement, he made a mistake and he has shown immediate remorse.

“He was present at a small, immediate family gathering to celebrate a milestone with those close to him but that is against the rules and action had to be taken.”

The 23-year-old Cardiff Blues winger, who was the leading try scorer at the 2019 World Cup although he has been tryless since scoring a hat-trick in the opening 2020 Six Nations game at home to Italy, has apologised for his actions, admitting he had made an “error of judgement”.

“I would like to apologise unreservedly,” said Adams. “When out of camp, at the weekend, I made an error of judgement. I attended a small gathering of immediate family to celebrate a family milestone.

“It was wrong to do this. I’m aware that everyone needs to follow the rules and being in the public eye I have a responsibility to lead by example and I’ve fallen short on this occasion.

“I’d like to apologise to my teammates and to our supporters for my mistake.”