Gregor Townsend includes five uncapped players in Scotland’s Six Nations squad

A total of 39 players have been named with Scotland opening campaign against England at home

Gregor Townsend has named five uncapped players in Scotland's 39-man squad for the upcoming Six Nations.

Saracens backrower Andy Christie and London Irish scrumhalf Ben White are two of the new faces in the pool.

Rory Darge, Ben Vellacott and Kyle Rowe are also rewarded with call-ups ahead of Scotland's first game of the championship against England at Murrayfield on Saturday, February 5th.

Bath centre Cameron Redpath, who enjoyed a memorable debut against England last year, has recovered from injury and will once again be in contention ahead of the Six Nations opener.


Ewan Ashman, Jamie Hodgson, Josh Bayliss, Javan Sebastian, Pierre Schoeman, Rufus McLean and Sione Tuipulotu, who all received their first Scotland caps in the recent autumn Tests, are included once again.

Elsewhere there are call-ups for Edinburgh backrow Magnus Bradbury and prop WP Nel, who missed out on selection for the autumn series, as well as Exeter lock Jonny Gray, who also returns.

Northampton centre Rory Hutchinson is included having not featured for Scotland in 2021.

Captain Stuart Hogg is joined by fellow British and Irish Lions Finn Russell, Ali Price, Zander Fagerson, Chris Harris, Rory Sutherland, Duhan Van Der Merwe and Hamish Watson.

Fraser Brown, Adam Hastings, Sean Maitland and George Horne are among the most notable omissions.

The squad will meet up at Oriam on Monday, January 24th for a training camp before reconvening the following week ahead of the Calcutta Cup clash.

Scotland’s Six Nations Squad

Forwards: Ewan Ashman (Sale, 2 caps), Josh Bayliss (Bath, 2), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow, 22), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh, 14), Andy Christie (Saracens, uncapped), Scott Cummings (Glasgow, 21), Rory Darge (Glasgow, uncapped), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow, 17), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow, 42), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh, 48), Jonny Gray (Exeter, 64), Nick Haining (Edinburgh, 10) , Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh, 3), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh, 43), WP Nel (Edinburgh, 43), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh, 31), Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh, 4), Javan Sebastian (Scarlets, 1), Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs, 15), Rory Sutherland (Worcester, 16), George Turner (Glasgow, 20), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh, 45).

Backs: Mark Bennett (Edinburgh, 22), Darcy Graham (Edinburgh, 22), Chris Harris, 31), Stuart Hogg (Exeter, capt, 88), Rory Hutchinson (Northampton, 5), Sam Johnson (Glasgow, 21), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh, 28), Rufus McLean (Glasgow, 2), Ali Price (Glasgow, 46), Cameron Redpath (Bath, 1 cap), Kyle Rowe (London Irish, uncapped), Finn Russell (Racing 92, 58), Kyle Steyn (Glasgow, 3), Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow, 1), Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester, 13), Ben Vellacott (Edinburgh, uncapped), Ben White (London Irish, uncapped).