Kiltegan - 0-12, Lough Lene Gaels - 0-9


Wicklow champions, Kiltegan brushed aside the challenge of Lough Lene Gaels, the Westmeath title holders, at Cusack Park, Mullingar, yesterday.

Kiltegan;s free-taker Nigel Byrne was in sparkling form, and they deservedly led 0-6 to 0-5 at the break.

Sean Byrne and Ned Cremin pointed the winners further ahead early in the third quarter and while the Gaels managed to narrow the deficit to the minimum, they were unable to draw level.

Kiltegan: T Kelly; Laurence Byrne, T Byrne, D Hayes; Lorcan Byrne, K O'Keeffe, G Wynne; N Byrne (0-7), C O'Toole (0-1); J Bermingham, J O'Toole (0-1), J Doyle; J Whelan, S Byrne (0-1), N Cremin (0-2). Subs: P Byrne for G Wynne; N Bermingham for P Byrne.

Lough Lene Gaels: M Briody; D Mortimer, M Murtagh, M Kennedy; C Williams, B Williams (0- 2), M Williams; M Shaw, P Williams (0-2); G Briody (0-1), J Gavigan (0-2), D Cunningham; J Williams, J Kennedy (0-2), A Murray. Sub: P Molloy for A Murray

Referee: E Morris (Dublin).

Fr Manning Gaels of Longford beat Offaly champions, Rhode, 0-9 to 0-6 in the replay of their first round Leinster football championship tie at Tullamore on Saturday.

The visitors deservedly led at halftime by 0-7 to 0-3. Rhode came into it more in the second half but weak finishing let them down.

Fr Manning Gaels: E Crowe; M Kane, G Brady, M Diffley; S Gallagher (0-1), F McNamee, M Mulleady; D Hanniffy (0-1), J Fitzpatrick; P Brady, J Breslin (0-1), C Hanniffy; M Mulleady, P Davis (0-5), J Tully (0-1).

Rhode: A Daly; J Kilmurray, A Kelleghan, P Dunne; R Harnett, K Kelleghan, P Kenny; F Dunne, B Malone; A McNamee, D Gorman, E Byrne (0-1); A Hyland, R Malone (0-1), P Kelleghan (0-2). Subs: P Daly (0-2) for Hyland; J Mooney for P Kelleghan; D Kelleghan for F Dunne.

Referee: G McCabe (Dublin).