Tipperary duo head Ireland’s team for Shinty international

Waterford’s Shane Bennett and Patrick Curran are on the Irish Under-21 squad

Tipperary's 2016 All-Ireland winning fullback James Barry is joined by Lee Chin (Wexford), John McGrath (Tipperary) and Conor Lehane (Cork) in this year's Ireland team for next Saturday's Shinty international.

The GAA’s selection will take on Scotland in the annual international clash in Bught Park in Inverness.

The Ireland squad is jointly managed by Tipperary All-Ireland minor winning manager Willie Maher and Kilkenny’s Conor Phelan. The 20-man panel draws players from 12 different counties and is captained by Westmeath’s Tommy Doyle, who was one of the Lake County’s key performers this season.

The match will be preceded by an Under-21 international between the two countries. That selection is managed by Willie Cleary and Gavin Keary and is captained by Limerick's Sean Finn and includes Waterford senior players Shane Bennett and Patrick Curran in its ranks.


Both matches next Saturday will be shown live by TG4. The Under 21 game throws in at 11.50am, with the senior match at 2pm.

Hurling/Shinty International Tour 2017 Senior Panel: Enda Rowland (Laois), James Barry (Tipperary), Chris Bonus (Kildare), Lee Chin (Wexford), Paul Coady (Carlow), Ben Conroy (Laois), Alan Cox (Westmeath), James Doyle (Carlow), Tommy Doyle (Westmeath), Alan Grant (Derry), Damien Healy (Meath), Ross King (Laois), Conor Lehane (Cork), John McGrath (Tipperary), John McManus (Down), Mark Moloney (Kildare), Andy O'Brien (Wicklow), James O'Connor (Kerry), David Reidy (Kildare), Denis Stapleton (Kildare).