Kilmacud Crokes and St Jude’s advance to Dublin hurling decider

All Star Danny Sutcliffe’s late point helps St Jude’s edge out O’Toole’s

Kilmacud Crokes and St Jude's advanced to the final of the Dublin senior hurling championship following their respective semi-final wins over Ballyboden St Enda's and O'Toole's in Parnell Park last Saturday afternoon.

Kilmacud largely dominated their clash against local rivals Ballyboden and they enjoyed a 0-9 to 0-5 interval advantage with Oisín Ó’Rorke and Caolán Conway sharing four points from play in the opening-half.

A 37th minute goal from Crokes captain Seán McGrath looked to have confirmed their likely progress. But the holders replied impressively with Conal Keaney landing a brace of sublime scores to leave the tie delicately poised.

However, Kilmacud regained their dominance with Cian Mac Gabhann and Rob O’Loughlin excelling defensively and they pulled clear in the closing stages through late scores by Conway and the impressive Damien Kelly.

Earlier in the day, Danny Sutcliffe’s 57th-minute point proved pivotal as St Jude’s eked out a narrow but deserved 0-15 to 0-14 win over battling O’Toole’s.

O’Toole’s were the slicker outfit in the first half and the dead-ball prowess of Conor Carton ensured they entered the break with a 0-10 to 0-8 half-time lead.

But the Northside outfit struggled for primary possession after the break with St Jude’s gradually reeling them in through points from Fionn Ó Riain Broin, Paul Maguire and Sutcliffe.

All Star Sutcliffe then struck a superb winner from under the stand three minutes from time.


Scorers: Kilmacud Crokes: C Conway 0-6 (two frees), S McGrath 1-2, D Kelly 0-3, O O’Rorke 0-2, R O’Dwyer, D Mulligan, N Corcoran 0-1 each. Ballyboden St Enda’s: P Ryan 0-5 (four frees, one ‘65’), C O’Neill, C Keaney 0-2 each, S Lambert, N McMorrow, C McCormack 0-1 each.

ST JUDE’S 0-15 O’TOOLE’S 0-14

Scorers: St Jude’s: F Ó Riain Broin 0-5 (four frees), D Sutcliffe 0-3, R Joyce, P Maguire (0-1 sideline) 0-2 each, M Maguire, T Devlin, S Larkin 0-1 each. O’Toole’s: C Carton 0-10 (six frees, one ‘65’, 0-1 pen), A Morris, G O’Meara, M Carton, C Mulligan 0-1 each.

Latest Stories