Gaelic Writers Association awards 2021: All-Ireland champions to the fore

Niamh Kilkenny and Vikki Wall claim inaugural women’s awards

All-Ireland champions were to the fore in Friday's Gaelic Writers Association awards at the annual GWA dinner in Dublin's Iveagh Garden Hotel.

The men's personalities of the year were four-time Limerick All Star Seán Finn, who continues to be in excellent form for the champions and Tyrone goalkeeper Niall Morgan, who was a huge influence on the county's All-Ireland win in 2021.

For the first time women's games were included in the awards with the inaugural winners being Galway's Niamh Kilkenny, a key player in the county's All-Ireland win against Cork last year and Meath footballer Vikki Wall, a major contributor to her team's memorable victory over champions Dublin in the All-Ireland final for which she was named player of the match.

The awards were supported by Wilson Hartnell, as part of their 50th anniversary celebrations.


Hurling Personality of the Year: Sean Finn (Limerick).

Football Personality of the Year: Niall Morgan (Tyrone).

Hurling Hall of Fame: Len Gaynor (Tipperary).

Football Hall of Fame: Brian McEniff (Donegal).

Camogie Personality of the Year: Niamh Kilkenny (Galway).

Ladies Football Personality of the Year: Vikki Wall (Meath).

Camogie Hall of Fame: Margaret O'Leary-Leacy (Wexford).

Ladies Football Hall of Fame: Áine Wall (Waterford).

PRO of the Year: Leona Twiss (Kerry).

Lifetime Achievement Award: Sean Rice (Mayo News).

Seán Moran

Seán Moran

Seán Moran is GAA Correspondent of The Irish Times