Nemo Rangers far too strong for Stradbally in Munster quarter-final

Waterford champions not helped by ridiculous scheduling

Nemo Rangers 1-13 Stradbally 0-5

Nemo Rangers, aided by a deeper pool of talent and the ludicrous scheduling which saw Stradbally lining out just 24 hours after claiming the Waterford senior title, advanced to the Munster Club Football semi-final following victory at Fraher Field on Saturday night.

The opening 10 minutes of action was all black and green as Nemo surged into a four-point lead, with Conor Horgan opening their account after 67 seconds.

Paul Kerrigan's inter-county class was written all over his third minute conversion, while Stradbally opened their account 90 seconds later through Tony Grey.


Alan O'Donovan rounded off a fine move instigated by Kerrigan and Michael Dorgan in the seventh minute, before the outstanding James Masters treated the Dungarvan audience to a trio of sumptuous points.

In the 17th minute, Stradbally's Michael Sweeney steered a shot wide from point-blank range when it looked to easier to score, but fine points from the towering Robert Aherne and John Hearn hauled them into the contest by the interval.

But within 70 seconds of the restart, Nemo effectively sealed the deal when Masters palmed the ball beyond Oliver Costelloe following Paul Kerrigan's pass.

Masters tagged an another brace of points within five minutes of the restart and Kerrigan assumed free-taking duties in the 41st minute by which time Nemo were 11 points clear.

Stradbally certainly didn’t throw the towel in, and Michael Sweeney ended their 18-minute drought with a well-struck point.

Substitutes William Morgan and Stephen Keane traded points in the 52nd and 55th minutes before Dylan Mehigan completed Nemo's tally.

NEMO RANGERS: M Martin; A O'Reilly, C O'Shea, A Cronin; K Fulignati, T Ó Sé, A O'Donovan (0-1); D Niblock, M Dorgan; D Mehigan (0-1), J Masters (1-5; two frees), P Kerrigan (0-2; one free); C Dalton (0-1), C Horgan (0-2), C O'Brien (0-1).

Subs: W Morgan (0-1) for J Masters (49 mins), P Morgan for D Niblock (53 mins), J Horgan for C Dalton (53 mins), D O'Donovan for K Fulignati (56 mins), S Martin for T O Sé (56 mins).

STRADBALLY: O Costelloe; K Lawlor, K Coffey, J Mullaney; T Connors, S Lannon, L Casey; T Grey (0-1), M Walsh; J Hearn (0-1), M Sweeney (0-1), J Coffey; R Aherne (0-1), S Aherne, P Kiely.

Subs: E O'Brien for J Coffey (23 mins), D Grey for P Kiely (43 mins), Ciaran Cusack for L Casey (43 mins), S Keane (0-1) for J Hearne (48 mins), T Curran for J Mullaney (53 mins), Cathal Cusack for K Coffey (56 mins)

Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare).