Carey on bench once again


If other teams had the luxury of naming Ciarβn Carey on the substitutes' bench, they'd probably feel as though they had won hurling's equivalent of the Lotto. Yet, Limerick, despite making three changes for their National Hurling League match with Clare at the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday, still have no room for Carey in their starting line-up.

Goalkeeper Joe Quaid, corner-back Declan Nash and forward Barry Foley have been brought back into the side for the match. But Carey, who surfaced as a substitute in last Sunday-week's win over Offaly, is again confined to the bench.

Although his brother Mike has retired from inter-county fare, Declan Nash's career is far from over - and he is recalled to the team at left-corner back in place of Tadgh Hayes. Foley is brought into the attack in place of Pat Tobin.

Meanwhile, Clare have restored a semblance of order to their defence with the return to duty of captain Anthony Daly and Liam Doyle for the match which pits the All-Ireland champions against the league champions.

Daly, however, is brought into the side at left-corner back, rather than his customary wing back berth, which will be occupied by Frank Lohan. Daly returns to the side after missing the opening league win over Antrim due to his Clarecastle commitments, but isn't unfamiliar with the corner-back position, having played there in the 1994 season.

Doyle, who returned from honeymoon on Tuesday, is named at right-half back. Richard Woods and Christy Chaplin drop down to the substitutes' bench to facilitate the return of Daly and Doyle. Offaly manager Babs Keating has deferred finalising his team for their encounter with Galway at Athenry until tonight to assess whether or not the Birr contingent will be available.

Brian Whelahan's absence was badly felt in defence in the opening match against Limerick, while Gary and Darren Hanniffy and Declan Pilkington could also be brought back into the team.

Limerick (SH v Clare) - J Quaid; S McDonagh, P Carey, D Nash; D Clarke, M Foley, C Smith; M Houlihan, S O'Neill; J Moran, O Moran, M Galligan; TJ Ryan, G Kirby, B Foley.

Clare (SH v Limerick) - D Fitzgerald; M O'Halloran, B Lohan, A Daly; L Doyle, S McMahon, F Lohan; C Lynch, O `Baker; J O'Connor, F Hegarty, D Forde; N Gilligan, B Quinn, A Markham.