Bergin points the way for O'Loughlin's


KILKENNY SHC FINAL O'Loughlin Gaels 0-17 Carrickshock 1-11:A DISCIPLINED display helped O’Loughlin Gaels land their third Kilkenny senior hurling county title yesterday.

Seven points from centre forward Mark Bergin did the trick as the city side denied Carrickshock a first senior title in 59 years in front of a crowd of 11,008 at Nowlan Park.

In a tight first half, Carrickshock looked nervous and O’Loughlin’s took control of the scoreboard. Alan Geoghegan and Mark Bergin grabbed three points each as the city side put the shackles on their opponents, full-back Andy Kearns limiting Richie Power to just one point (a free) in the opening half.

The lead could have been even greater. The best goal chance of the half fell to O’Loughlin’s full forward Martin Comerford, who raced on to Niall Bergin’s seventh-minute clearance but somehow drove his shot into the ground when a goal seemed certain.

Carrickshock tried to rally and Michael Rice landed two points, but with Brian Hogan marshalling the defence, O’Loughlin’s led 0-10 to 0-4 at the break.

Carrickshock came out intent to make a better start to the second half, but their hopes suffered a real blow when they failed to profit from a penalty. Power drove a thunderous shot at the goal, but O’Loughlin’s midfielder Peter Dowling made a fine block.

Three more Bergin frees, and then a fine solo point from captain Martin Comerford, helped O’Loughlin’s open up a 0-15 to 0-7 lead by the 48th minute.

Carrickshock however hit back with a late rally. Points from Richie Power (frees) and John Tennyson helped them claw their way back into the game, before Tennyson flicked a Power 65 to the net in injury-time. That left just three points in it (0-16 to 1-10), but O’Loughlin’s didn’t panic, as sub Seamus Cummins struck a valuable late point to seal their win.

O’LOUGHLIN GAELS: S Murphy; B Kelly, A Kearns, E Kearns; A O’Brien, B Hogan, N Bergin; P Dowling, M Nolan; N McEvoy (0-2), M Bergin (0-7, 0-5 frees), A Geoghegan (0-3); B Dowling (0-2), M Comerford (0-2), D Loughnane. Sub: S Cummins (0-1)for B Dowling, (56 mins).

CARRICKSHOCK: P Farrell; J Dalton, D Franks, L Gaule; P Mulcahy, N Tennyson, J Murphy; W Hoyne, J Tennyson (1-1); P Tennyson, M Rice (0-2), Jamie Power; John Power, R Power (0-6, 0-4 frees, 0-1 65), N Rohan (0-2). Subs: M O’Dwyer for Hoyne (35 mins), A Power for Rice (43 mins), R Frisby for Mulcahy (47 mins), B Donovan for P Tennyson (51 mins).

Referee: E Mansfield.