Spielberg, Bigelow, Affleck and Ang Lee feature on director award list


Filmmakers Steven Spielberg, Kathryn Bigelow, Ben Affleck, Tom Hooper and Ang Lee received nominations from the Directors Guild of America yesterday, ahead of this week’s Oscar nominations.

Affleck (40) landed his first Directors Guild film award nomination for Iran hostage thriller Argo, alongside fellow US directors Bigelow and Spielberg, Taiwanese director Lee and British filmmaker Hooper.

“These directors represent the highest standard of filmmaking, and their films are a testament to artistic achievement, innovative storytelling and the passion that filmmakers share with their audiences,” guild president Taylor Hackford said.

The nominations are often a key indicator of Oscar nominees and winners, as guild members are often also members of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, which hosts the Oscars. The Academy Award for best picture also often goes to the winner of the guild’s best director award.

This is the 11th Directors Guild of America nomination for Spielberg (66), who has previously won the award for Schindler’s List in 1994 and Saving Private Ryan in 1999 .

The winner of the feature film category will be revealed at a ceremony hosted by Frasier star Kelsey Grammer on February 2nd in Los Angeles, three weeks before the Academy Awards.